Spiritual Elements

 

 

Okay, I admit it; sometimes I’m am very starved for approval. Relationships around me are spiritually fractured and oneness is something I’ve been seeking for some time now, yet, I’m drained.

Throughout scripture, human beings bonded at a level of thought and emotion. One very intimate story in the Bible is the Book of Ruth. There you will find a deep connection between Ruth and Naomi. Naomi was a Jewess whose sons had married Moabite women, one of whom was Ruth. When Naomi’s husband and sons died, she decided to return to the people and she set her daughters-n-law back to their people in Moab. But Ruth stayed with her mother-n-law, speaking her well-known words in Ruth 1:16, “Wherever you go, I will go; and wherever you lodge, I will lodge; your people shall be my people, and your God, my God.” She joined with Naomi in faith, leaving her parents and her people and believing in the God of the Jews. In today’s terms she accepted her mother-n-law for who she was and loved her and accepted her. She wanted a relationship with her.motherdaughters41828985

Some families struggle with this spiritual connection. Most often they love each other because that’s what they’re supposed to do and they want to keep the peace. However, many times they just don’t understand each other. It’s hard to find that deep spiritual connection as many of the families are broken, carrying their own baggage and the bickering and trials continue to seep into the relationship. When you are the only one on the outside, it’s very hard to continue gracefully. The soul is where we relate to God and others and none of us like having our souls confused and crushed. When I try to deal with raw emotions, I tend to bury my head in the sand, hide out, and let the bombs explode around me. I push the buried hurt deep down and it plays with my self-image. But…As a child of God, I am stronger than he who is in the world.

I am spiritually tolerant of the unwilling to accept me because I can’t change the un-changeable. I can only be the me that God created me to be. I am a woman who tries to do the best that she can and loves others but I won’t be walked on. I have values that I will no longer allow my values to be manipulated. They may be lovers of self, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God. The roadblock in our relationships just helps us find the detour that brings us to our destination.

Proverbs 3:6 NIV  Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.

 

Leave a Reply

