Happy New Year

I could look back at 2013 and easily describe to you my full year’s worth of junk. You know, the bad health, my job, my finances, my husband’s job and almost losing everything we own. BUT…Instead, please let me share with you the good things from 2013. You know, the bad health, my job, my finances, my husband’s job and almost losing everything we own. For it is in these trials that I have learned and grown.

 

It was a year of watching the azaleas making fuchsia starburst, looking at the full moon on a cold winter’s night and experiencing a summer breeze gently brush across my skin. It was a year that I came to realize that life is glorious and not one to be taken advantage of. It’s ironic that we forget so often how wonderful life is.

 

We all want to do well in life. Each of our definitions of “well” is different but if we do not do good, too, then doing well will never be enough. Don’t spend so much time on trying to always be “well.” Good is great! Life is short. Remember that, too.  I have often thought about that over the year as it has been ten years since my dad passed away from cancer. And this is what I learned from the experience: that knowledge of our own lives is the greatest gift that God ever gave to us.

 

Happy 2014 to all of you! I pray that you will not take any form of time for granted. Be in each moment of 2014.

 

Beth

One thought on “Happy New Year

  1. Linda December 31, 2013 / 6:22 pm

    Beautiful thoughts.. . . just what I needed today. . .thank you, Beth.

    Like

Leave a Reply

