F-O-C-U-S

 victory in Jesus

 

FOCUS…For such a small word, it packs a powerful punch.  So many of us are needing focus in our lives. That word seems to be the theme word for my prayer group/Bible Study. We all ask for things that are dear to our hearts but I am amazed that we all are asking for focus in one way or another. As I sat this afternoon and really thought about this stage of my life I would have thought that I had a better grasp on my focus. There are days where I have my to-do list and I have no problem getting it done and then there are days where I’m dragging just to get the dishes washed. Those days will come and go throughout our lives at any age and at any given time. It’s during those cloudy times that we really need to ask for help. There are circumstances that can cause us to lose our focus entirely on God. When that happens we feel very lost.

In the last two years I’ve been diagnosed with a kidney disease. I’ve gone from full-time employment to part-time. I gave up my part-time job for something bigger and better and that didn’t work out. I’ve been on all sorts of medications and now I’m unemployed. It has been very hard to keep my focus on track.

What would your definition be of the word F-O-C-U-S ? Really, ask yourself what that small powerful word means to you.  I have broken that word down into something I hope will help you…

F=Faith

O=on

C=Christ

U=Under

S=Stress

No doubt that our faith can waver from time to time. We all have things that happen to us to cause us to lose our faith in Christ. There is a lot of tragic stuff going on in our world around us, in our jobs, in our families in our heart. Life is at such a frantic pace now that no sooner do we finish one task than we have to start the next but we can’t focus because we are exhausted. Sometimes I’m juggling the writing of articles which makes it difficult to appreciate anything I create. I don’t want to live my life that way but I have a hard time putting the brakes on unless I’m forced to through my illness. God knows how to get my attention.

In order to get and keep our focus, we have to remember to take a break. In Genesis God took a break and the first thing Adam and Eve did was to rest and enjoy God’s presence.  “And on the seventh day God ended His work which He had done; and He rested on the seventh day from all His work which He had done.” Gen: 2:2 AMP

Maybe you need to ask yourself if you are running ahead of God or if there is an area in your life that is out of balance? I know there are a couple of areas in mine and trying to keep it all in check is hard, very hard.  I don’t normally try to memorize any scripture in the Amplified version of the Bible because it’s more wordy but lately I’ve been reading and re-reading Isaiah 40 and trying to make it more personal.

But…Beth, if you trust in me, you will find new strength. In fact, you will rise up and soar like an eagle. You will walk and run without getting worn out, But those who wait for the Lord {who expect, look for, and hope in Him} shall renew their strength and power; they shall lift their wings and mount up {close to God} as eagles {mount up to the sun}: they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not fait or become tired.40:31

 

F-O-C-U-S…We will find our strength, we will wait for the Lord and put our hope in Him…I love the next part; they shall lift their wings and mount up CLOSE TO GOD…We will stay in focus if we keep our focus. If you are angry, get your focus on HIM. If you are sick, get your focus on  HIM. If you have lost your job or are struggling financially, get your focus on Him. HE will allow you to come close to HIM and we will not become fait or tired. Thank you Jesus!!!

2 thoughts on “F-O-C-U-S

  1. Linda Skadeland April 23, 2014 / 6:21 pm

    I love it!! F-O-C-U-S. . . thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

