Another Infection? What!!!

What, another sinus infection? Does it ever end? I’m so tired of being diagnosed with something and that something being out of my control. I thought if I dropped the gluten I would feel better, which I do a little bit but AGAIN I have an infection. I had one in February and one around Christmas. Ugh!!! This stuff really gets me down. And…to top it off, it’s a cloudy, rainy day…Sick Young Woman Lying in Bed

I have been on a medication for almost a year now that weakens my immune system. I was really hoping I would be off of it by now, but unfortunately I am not. I catch everything and I don’t like that. Just when I think I’m taking a huge step forward in my life I then fall back again. There is so much YUCK going on in my life that I wonder how it will ever get any better.

Have you ever been there? Do you have those dark days, those continual rainy days where you just don’t get it? What keeps me going is knowing that this experience will draw me closer to Jesus. It’s when I go into darkness and uncertainty that God’s invitation to go deeper with him is so comforting.

I love sinking into the book of Psalms. They cry from the depths of despair and reach way down to the soul always promising a way out.

Out of the depths I cry to you, O Lord, hear my voice…I wait for the Lord, my soul waits and in His Word, I put my hope Psalm 130:1, 2, 5

I love in the Old Testament how Joseph named his first-born son Manasseh, ‘because God has made me forget’ and then he named his second son Ephraim ‘because God has made me fruitful in my land of suffering.’

Until we die or Christ returns, we will face suffering; Therefore, when the Bible says that Christ gave himself “to deliver us from the evil age,” it does not mean that he will take us out of the world, but that he will deliver us from the power of the evil in it. Satan is everywhere and has been given freedom to deceive and destroy and where does he start? He starts in our minds and breaks us down. But “The god of this world has blinded the minds of the unbelievers, to keep them from seeing the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ.” The god of this world is Satan.GE DIGITAL CAMERA

I have to remind myself that what feels like freedom is bondage. I will not conform to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of my mind (Romans 12:2). This means freedom. I will have bad days, sick body days, and weary heart days but I really am free in Christ.  Jesus went to the cross for me and for you to set us free from darkness. Follow Christ. It is costly but even if you are an exile in this age you will be free with Him right into eternity.

Leave a Reply

