What is Love?

Image

               What is love? Is it an emotion? Is it a verb? If you asked people on the street to define love, they’d probably tell you that it’s an emotion. Is it like an overwhelming feeling when a parent stares down at their newborn child’s face? Is it the butterflies-in-the-stomach feeling when you get in a serious relationship? What is this word we toss around without thought?

               The Bible tells us that the word love is neither emotion nor verb. Love is God and God is love. Love is defined by the character and actions of God.  God’s nature is love and His every action is loving.  We are all called to do as God instructs us to do. If we are called to love others just as Jesus loves us then we need to show that we know God when we love one another because that’s who God is.                         

Image

               Unfortunately so many have not experienced God’s love nor grasped the depth of his love for them. They believe God’s love is like the love other people have shown them. What a dangerous comparison. I came from very loving parents but I know just by the relationship that I have with God that He loves me so much more. I can’t imagine being loved more than my mom and dad loved me.

               If you’ve come from a home where love was not prevalent, please don’t compare that love to God’s love. Human love can be fickle, unpredictable and even vengeful. People, especially those struggling with their own hurts and emotional damage, can warp the meaning of love, causing themselves to struggle with accepting God’s love.  God’s love is unconditional. You can’t earn it. You can’t work for it. It comes to you by His grace.  Can our human minds understand this concept?

               In Ephesians 3:18, the apostle Paul attempts to measure the immeasurable by conveying the breadth of God’s love in human terms. It’s wide, long, high and deep enough to reach everyone everywhere! I just can’t wrap my brain around that. There are no hopeless situations where you can’t be loved by God!!!

               God’s love is universal. Psalm 145:17 says, “The Lord is righteous in all his ways and loving toward all he has made.” (NASB) No matter what you are going through; no matter what darkness lingers over your head; you are still loved by God. Please don’t give up! I remember Elisabeth Elliot always starting and ending her radio program with, “You are loved with an everlasting love.” I didn’t understand that when I was a baby Christian but now that I’m older, more ripe and ready for ministry, I get it. No matter what I do, I’m loved and so are you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

