Dioxins of the Mind

Image

            Got any idea what dioxins are? Dioxins are pollutants that linger in water and soil that take years to disappear. Manufacturers often release chlorine bleach, for example, into local water bodies, where it can create persistent organic pollutants such as dioxins. These dioxins are found throughout the world in the environment and they accumulate in the food chain, mainly in the fatty tissue of animals.  Where do we get our exposure? Our exposure comes from our food and dioxins can cause developmental problems and damage our immune system. Haven’t you noticed the increase in auto-immune diseases over the last several years? I’ve become keenly aware of my own autoimmune disease because I’ve personally witnessed behavioral and physical changes within my own body when I’ve eaten something wrong. With all of this information, it has caused me to take a more radical approach towards my eating habits and now I’ve become even more concerned about what I’m using in my household to clean and disinfect germs.  

            Call me the germ-free radical of my home. I want to recycle everything. I want to eat only organic and I want to start making my own house cleaners. I don’t desire to do all of this because they are the “thing-to-do” but rather I want to make sure all of my grandchildren have a cleaner environment to live in. I have a strong desire to put only good things into my body. As a matter of fact, this week I’ve bought a big supply of vinegar and Baking Soda and lemon juice. You should see how much these non-harmful things can be good for you. For example, vinegar is a whiz at cutting through grease and grime. You can easily get a sparkling toilet by pouring a cup of vinegar in there and letting it sit for an hour. Use your toilet brush and the rings will be gone.  

            What do I mentally pollute myself with.  I had a lot of time to think about this because I was sick with the stomach flu. Yea! A stomach flu in the spring; I had plenty of time to just lay around and think.  Am I putting Dioxins into my mind causing my thoughts to ruminate on evil, offensive and hatred? These are very pollutant thoughts.

            That is exactly what we do when we do not think about what we are saying, or even thinking. Satan is very canny and will find any way that He can get into our lives. Where does He start? From our thoughts.  He takes every thought of ours and twists it to meet His plan. However, God’s Word tells us that we should take every thought captive. II Corinthians 10:5 … We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ. (NIV) How do we do this?

            Saying we are saved does not make our thought captive towards Christ. It is a daily battle because we are flesh of this world. We were born sinners and we are prone to sin. However, the good news is that Jesus died for our sins and we don’t have to walk in defeat.  I was reminded this past week during Bible Study that the evil spiritual world cannot utterly destroy us because Satan is not God’s evil equal. But there are demonic forces that would enjoy nothing more than to derail us from making God’s name great in this world. Stay in the Word; connect with other Christians; get involved in ministry and most importantly, pray against the evil one.

            Dioxins! Dioxins of the mind and of the earth are prevalent every day all day.  What lies does Satan tell you to keep your mind polluted with dioxins? You’re ugly, fat and useless? You’re divorced, single or had an abortion? You smoke, drink or have had an affair? None of these things can keep you from the love of God. God’s word tells us to put on the full armor so that we may be ready for battle.   

                                      I John 4:4 you, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world.

            How do you struggle with Satan’s eerie tricks? How do you stay grounded? Come and join us as we discuss practical ways to keep Satan out of our lives…Image

Leave a Reply

