New Glasses

Image

          His glasses are nine years old. Trying to get my husband to go to the eye doctor is impossible. It’s somewhat comical when I watch him try to focus on the television; his head moves from side to side then up and down. I often ask him, “Wouldn’t it be easier if you just got a new pair of glasses?” To that he responds, “One of these days.

          We all have to focus during the day on several tasks. Whether we need to focus on a recipe or focus during a friend-to-friend conversation; we have to give our attention to the task. If you are like me, you have to turn your attention toward one thing at a time. I can’t focus unless I’m staring it straight on and am100% tuned in.

          Focus or foci, formed from the Latin word is hearth, fireplace, flame, central point and center. The word “focus” was introduced into mathematics by Johannes Kepler in 1604 with the meaning of any “central point. Therefore, to focus, so to speak, is to pay attention to the hearth: the floor of a fireplace which is made of sturdy material such as stone and or brick.  Proverbs 4:25 tells us to let our eyes look directly forward, and fix your gaze directly before you. (NIV)

          Okay, practical application here, when you sit in front of a fire, looking straight ahead at the sturdy hearth you are focused on what is in front of you. There is something about gazing straight into a fire and being lost in the awe of its beauty. Christ is our focus. He is our sturdy-as-stone hearth and we can get lost in His beauty if we gaze upon Him at all times.  Please know that you obtain the tools to FOCUS on GOD during times of uncertainty. When we focus on Christ we begin to pay attention to what’s going on inside which brings us to a more calm state during the uncertain storms of life.

          If you are struggling now, be reminded of past times when God was your sturdy-as-stone hearth.

Philippians 3:12-14

Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it but one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which  God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus. (NIV)

Leave a Reply

