Ballast for my Soul

Image

I am a little bit on a Spurgeon kick today. Yesterday I was able to watch a biography of his life with a couple of very sweet women. I was truly blessed and realized that I don’t know a whole lot about this wonderful servant-of-a-man.

Spurgeon used the word ballast in one of his sermons and I had to ponder on it for a bit. The ballast is the weight to keep the boat stable in the water.  I found on spurgeongems.org something that he said.

“We are warned by the Word both of our duty, our danger, and our remedy. On the sea of life there would be many more wrecks if it were not for the divine storm-signals which give to the watchful a timely warning. The Bible should be our Mentor, our Monitor, our Memento Mori, our Remembrancer, and the Keeper of our Conscience”.

The Bible should be our Mentor and our Monitor!!!

The Bible is our ballast!!! It keeps us stable in the rough seas of life!!!

I love the Word of God! It is my mentor and my monitor. Oh forgive me for repeating that over and over again but please just meditate on that for a few. I can add nothing to it!!!

A Ballast for my Soul

That tosses to and fro,

But God’s Word will ever be

A ballast for my soul.

By its truth I’ll be held fast

Til I reach heaven’s shore

Where I will be home at last

And sail life’s sea no more!

Perry Boardman

What does the Word of God mean to you? Let’s talk about it @ Living by GraceImage

Leave a Reply

