Obedience or Selfishness?

Am I being obedient or selfish? I have to sit back and ask myself this question from time to time. There are times where I think I’m on the right path but then as I “do life” I find out that I am not. Do you ever do that?

How can we tell if we are being obedient or selfish? Does being obedient mean that our days will all be peaches and cream? Not at all! Sometimes being obedient means that it might be a rough road ahead of us.

I have been on a journey for a couple of years now. I’ve given up much but have gained more. Let me explain that. I gave up working full time to fasten myself to writing from home. I thought this was an act of obedience to a calling, but now I’m kinda questioning it. Yes, there are times that we do have questions for God. I don’t question God Himself, I just have some questions FOR God.

Is this chapter of my life being closed? I am drowning in an areas of my life that needs some attention, however, that’s where I question myself…Am I being obedient or selfish. Do I let some things go in order to allow new things to enter?

There is a mysterious darkness, a lingering melancholy in my journey because the problems are multiplying and there is an enormous temptation to choose the selfish solution. Today while reading in the book of James I was reminded that the way to obtain good decisions is to ask God, who longs to bestow it on all who have yielded to His plan. If I just stop and yield to the potential available that is already residing within me; the Holy Spirit, then I can do all things.

The day I accepted Jesus, no on explained how to grow spiritually. There are days that I still feel like I’m muddling through but, God always wants us to bear the image of Christ, but we do not grow in our faith unless we take action. So, maybe this is a time for me to take action and allow those new things to enter?

If you are questioning your journey right now and wondering if you are being obedient or selfish, may I suggest taking a step toward Jesus’ plan for your life and saturate your mind with the holy, unchanging Word of God. I would also suggest that you commit yourself to praying in the Holy Spirit. (this is for me too)

I must never take the Lord’s grace for granted and neither should you. I need to guard my closeness with him and so should you. Carve out your time for Him and I will too.

2 thoughts on “Obedience or Selfishness?

  1. Linda Skadeland June 2, 2014 / 7:38 pm

    This is a lot to ponder. . . thank you for challenging me to think and question along these lines.

    Like

  2. Beth Farley June 2, 2014 / 7:47 pm

    It is for me too. I struggle with obedience to His will or selfishness of my will. That’s when it’s time to get saturated:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

