Treats With God

 

Image

With everything you are doing in life, have you taken the time to decide what is next? I know we are supposed to live our lives day by day with God, but I also know that He perfectly designs our lives for our pleasure. What do you do if you are struggling with feeling that pleasure?

Have you ever served yourself a big heaping spoonful or two of 100% all FAT ice-cream then drizzled hot chocolate on top and topped it off with whipped cream? Of course you have; we all have. I enjoyed a huge bowl just a few weeks ago and as I got through every delicious melting mouthful of yummy ice-cream, I looked at the empty bowl and thought to myself, ”Do I lick it?” I didn’t want to miss a drop of the mouth watering yummy mixture, so I licked the bowl dry.

I am on week #2 of staying away from too much dairy and wheat and still go through the bouts of missing the yummy stuff. Yes, I crave every last drop even the licking-of-the-bowl goodness. As I was going through one of my “caving-into-the-craving-“ moments last night, I immediately asked myself, why don’t I want every drop of God in my life? Why don’t I desire Him as much as I desire the final bit of the most eye-opening dessert on the planet?

As I snapped out of my momentary trance, I immediately got out my journal and my Bible and began reading in 1 Timothy 6:6…But godliness with contentment is a great gain. HCSB Then I went further to read vs 8…But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with these.

When I am not in God’s Word daily or not listening to His guidance, I am so tempted to cave into something that is not good for me. It might be gossip, anger, pride or even being unable to forgive to the point of hatred.

RESOLUTION: I do solemnly resolve to embrace my current season of life and spend more time with God. I will resist the urge to walk away from Him when He’s talking to me.

Leave a Reply

