I’m Done!

What is your way of showing others that you are done? Do you walk away? Roll your eyes? Hang up the phone? We all have our own way of communicating that we are done with something. It might be a hurtful conversation. It might be a diet. It might be a personality that we just can’t deal with.

With me, I have gone through different stages and different ways of showing I’m done with something or someone. When I was young and married I wanted to talk everything out. I wanted to just talk until I could talk no longer, until the conversation was done. When I went through a rough divorce my way of saying I was done was by yelling until I was hoarse. When I re-entered the dating world my way of saying I was done was by walking away or hanging up the phone.

I look back at all of the ways I dealt with situations that I didn’t want to deal with and I was never consistent. I hung up the phone. I sobbed. I argued. I walked away. I was not consisted because we can’t stay in a pattern that is not good for us. We can’t just throw up are arms and walk way from something when God wants us to stand firm and walk through it. We can’t just hang up the phone when God wants us to talk it out. We can’t just empty the tears and not learn from the pain.crying-woman1

What we need to learn is that every time you are tempted to be offended and upset, your faith is being tried. Whenever I find myself in a situation I can’t do anything about, I have found that a good way to cast my care upon the Lord is simply to say, “It’s yours God.” It has taken me a long time to get to that point and I’m not there all of the time.

I actually think that God tests us in ways that we don’t understand. He wants us to see His goodness and how well He takes care of us. In other words, if we are not satisfied with what is going on in our lives right now, maybe we should look back and let God show us how the ways we have conducted ourselves has affected what is happening to us now.

If we are willing to change from the previous conduct that is holding back God’s blessings, we can have greater victories than what we have ever had before.

Is it time for you yourselves to dwell in your paneled houses while this house [of the Lord] lies in ruins? Now therefore thus says the Lord of hosts: Consider your ways and set your mind on what has come to you. You have sown much, but you have reaped little; you eat, but you do not have enough; you drink but you do not have your fill; you clothe yourselves, but no one is warm; and he who earns wages has earned them to put them in a bag with hole in it. Haggai 1:4-6 AMP

Leave a Reply

