Survival Mode … Beth Farley

storm 1

The violent storm ripped through our city last night. With 65 mph gusts and the windows shaking, I thought for sure I was going to hear the tornado drills sound. What did I do? I went into survival mode. I curled into the fetal position and pulled the comforter over my head.

How does it feel to be in survival mode? Survival mode feels differently for many of us. We all react differently to the storms of our lives. But, I ask what good will OUR survival mode do us if it is temporary?

While I was under the covers, shaking like a leaf, I was thinking about how stupid it was to be under there. I should have gone to the safe zone of our house; under the stairs. If the windows burst over me or even worse, rapid winds caused the roof to blow off, how safe was I under the covers? Why didn’t do the smart thing?

When you’re going through a violent storm in your life, what does your survival mode look like? Is it a few drinks, few pills, few street drugs, few extra ding-dongs, binging or purging? We become powerless and turn to things and even people that we think will help us survive when we should be turning to God.

One of the most debilitating aspects of fear is its ability to sap our strength, drain our energy and causes us to think irrationally.

Life’s hardships often makes us feel like someone’s turned up the heat and we wonder if we’ll ever survive. At times we may be asking for divine assistance and wonder if we’re being heard because we don’t readily get an answer we identify. Our Heavenly Father listens to us unconditionally.

When you need a solid survival plan, God will guide you. There is a purpose for your storm and in what God is doing, whether we see it or not. What is happening may be very powerful like a fierce storm, but He’ll cause it to work together for your good.

Dear Lord, I thank you for all of the great things in my life. For the not-so-great? I thank you as well because although I cannot understand why you did not intervene on my behalf in the midst of this trauma, I believe you God have a purpose.

storm 2

One thought on “Survival Mode … Beth Farley

  1. Gerry Farley July 9, 2014 / 6:27 am

    This is beautiful and so appropriate.

    Like

Leave a Reply

