Lessons Learned from Sharing a Bowl of Cereal with Your Dog! by Beth Farley

 

peek eyes 2

Day 2

Survival

It was one of those days where I stayed pretty diligent with my diet; or should I say, my new healthy choices. I looked up at the wall clock and it was almost 11:00 p.m. and my stomach started making that ugly growling noise. It kinda sounded like a plunger in a toilet; it was gurgling and swishing.

Do I – Don’t I? I asked myself that simple question over and over again until finally I gave in and said, “I do!” I pulled out the “healthy” cereal and skim milk and sat down to savor the flavor. As I was dipping the spoon in for the third time, I looked over and saw my pal, Peek. Peek is my Peek-a-Poo dog. She was giving me those soft eyes, the kind that I know without a doubt would love to get her little tongue into my now half eaten bowl of yum-yum cereal.

The sad, droopy glare in here eyes enticed me to do something I don’t often do; I shared.

It got me to thinking about the facial expressions we portray. We roll our eyes, frown, squint, widen our eyes, stick out our tongues, scrunch our cheeks and frown with sadness.

Then I wondered, does God see our facial expressions? I know He is all knowing, all powerful and all loving. But, does He love us when we are making hurtful faces towards others?

What’s that ole expression, “Actions speak louder than words?” I would have to agree with that. I’ve experienced several years of unloving facial expressions and they have landed us in several confrontational critical conversation. Not good!

At our Bible Study today we talked a little bit about how much a smile can do for someone. Isn’t that the truth! We read so much of people by their looks but if someone smiles at me, I want to smile back no matter what I’m feeling.

What is your face saying today?sadness

Dear God, when I am so angry, please help me to turn up a smile rather than roll my eyes.

The hearing ear and the seeing eye, the Lord has made them both. Proverbs 20:12

If God tells us that the Lord has made both the eyes and the ears, then don’t you think we had better use them for His Purpose?

Leave a Reply

