The Best Way to Deal & Heal is to Write by Sight…By Beth Farley

 

0408120451

Day 3 Survival

After a long day of running to and fro, I finally rewarded myself with an hour at the pool. I always find comfort being by water, dangling my legs or plunging right in. I’ve been known to do a back dive a time or two and may just do it again this summer. Being by the pool or near any water, brings back joyful childhood memories.

As I spread my fluffy towel down, I took out my new Karen Kingsbury book with full intentions of letting go of some painful emotions that my body was yearning to release. Despite all of my own efforts all of the critical wounds were trying to re-surface.

Criticism from loved ones can be so toxic and frankly rob you of your joy.

Tossing and turning on my chair, intensions on not allowing myself to feel the hurt; I knew what I had to do. I reached into my pool bag, grabbed my journal and pen and began to write by sight.

Looking around the fairly quiet pool I saw smiling faces. I saw the clear blue water with magnificent blue tiles glimmering in the sunshing. I saw the emerald green leaves swaying in the light warm breeze and right away I was reminded of my beautiful world around me.

I could hear children laughing, music playing and lips chatting. There is joy in this place. God has given me this little domain to remind me of His provisions.

I’m learning pain by pain and tension by tension that after all of my own strategies fail, I’m finally brought to the realization that there is peace in Him; peace in His beauty that surrounds me.

He covers the sky with clouds; he supplies the earth with rain and makes gras grow on the hills.
Psalm 147:8 NIV

Center yourself and meditate on the actual truth of God’s perfect peace. Deal and heal by the beautiful world given to you.

Do you ever get lost in the beautiful world around you? If so, how do you get lost and what help could you give to others?

Come and join the discussion at living by grace…a Facebook community.

living by grace

2 thoughts on “The Best Way to Deal & Heal is to Write by Sight…By Beth Farley

  1. Linda Skadeland July 11, 2014 / 8:23 pm

    I love this. . . I will look at God’s creation instead of all my cares!!! Thanks for the reminder!

    Like

    • Beth Farley July 12, 2014 / 7:32 am

      His creation has always lifted my spirits. So much beauty around us.

      Like

Leave a Reply

