Toxic…Beth Farley

 

sadness

Toxic Words Destroy

I have recently been attacked via Facebook by some people I have loved for years. Their words were incredibly hurtful and toxic. They almost caused me to completely shut down from Face book; but I decided to just delete them/block them so that I could further my work for God with the gift He has given me.

What do we do when toxic words linger? And how can we put them behind us?

Until we decide that our path in life matters, that it is ultimately our responsibility to live by our cherished principles, established by God, then we will have insufficient motivation to put criticism in its place.

If our goal is to do all that God has called us to do and commit to saying nothing will deflect us from that path.

If we commit to that, then why do we allow friends or a loved one remarks elicit negative activity? I believe we all need a sense of what matters in life?

Is it the cars we own or the houses we live in that matter? We need a solid sense of what matters in life. Insofar as the meanings in our lives are built on sand, we are vulnerable to the wounding by what people say and do.

Matthew 7:26 says:But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand. (NIV)
Listening to what God’s Word says vs listening to the bitter words of others Christian or non-christian is vital to our lives.

If you are approaching a situation and believe your attitude is not in control, then whose control is it in? It is always in God’s if and only if you give it to Him. I have dealt with such hurtful and hateful attitudes for years and I would say most times before responding, I learned how to pray for protection over my words. When in that compromising situation I have prayed that the Holy Spirit would give me the words. I said most times; not all times

I have gone round and round with the same family members. Besides praying before entering into a conversation, what else can I do?

I ask God to show me where to start. I recently made the decision NOT to allow the toxic words to bring me down any longer. I have asked God to show me a specific time and place for the rejuvenation process to begin; that is what we all need to do when we feel broken down; pray for rejuvenation.

I have taken almost two solid weeks to breathe and reaffirm what I believe. I know taking time to breathe and evaluate is hard when we are dealing with so much, especially for young moms with children under their feet all day. If you don’t have time to do this; to slow down; please take joy in knowing that you do not have to be isolated to breathe. God’s sweet Spirit will prompt you when to take a deep breath.

If you have some decisions to make towards some toxic family members or a toxic friend or even toxic co-workers, please spend some time in solitude. Our decisions are often best made in that quiet time with Him. Be conscious to humble yourself before the Lord and seek His plans and purpose. I could cry right now because it is the MOST initiate time you can have with Him. I’ve experienced it first hand, over and over again.

Breath, what a powerful word; the process of inhaling the good and releasing the bad is very cleansing. Just take several deep breaths, each five-seconds on the inhale and five on the exhale. These breaths will calm you down, put your focus where it needs to be; and tap into the gauge of God.

Oh Lord, it’s so hard to separate our feelings from facts when we are being attacked. Help us all to breathe and call upon You.

I don’t normally read from the Message but Romans 8:27 MSG is beautiful!

(The Spirit) knows us far better than we know ourselves, knows our pregnant condition, and keeps us present before God. That’s why we can be so sure that every detail in our lives of love for God is worked into something good.

Women, meditate on the word pregnant…If you’ve ever experienced being pregnant, we know how hard it is to know what’s going on in that little tummy of ours, or in my case, BIG tummy; but God knows. Wow!!! What a great God!

Come join us today at Living by Grace; a Facebook community as we discuss toxic words…How we cope and I would love to hear about what you think about a God that knows our pregnant condition.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Living-by-Grace/208718449189065

living by grace

Leave a Reply

