Was it Just a Dress? by Beth Farley

 

wedding dress

As I was cleaning out my bedroom closet, there it hung; the dress! As I stood there with my  thoughts, I asked myself, “Was it just a dress?”

We first made eye contact in the store. On the clearance rack, there it hung. It’s beautiful silk draped around the wider curves I was blessed with. The beaded pearls hung from the neckline so there was no need for any accessories. I fell in love immediately. The best part was it was marked down several times from $129.99 to $12.99!Looking at myself from all angles in the full length mirror, I chose it. It was mine. Bought …

After it was worn for one very special purpose, there it sat, in the back of the closet for two years. Was it just a dress?

Two years later, I am face to face with a whirlwind of memories. I lifted the dress off of the bar, peeled it off the hanger and held it to my face. I smelled the faint scent of perfume that was worn that day. I allowed my fingertips to slowly caress the pearls that hung around the collar and I began to sob. Allowing the emotions to flow from the depths of my soul, I gently folded it in tissue paper and placed it into the DONATE pile.

Once my dress was sadly tossed into the huge metal donation-bin and I heard it hit the bottom, I slowly turned around, walked back to my car and hung my head. All at once, much fear, anger, anxiety and sadness gripped my body. The DRESS was gone.

This chapter of my life was gone!!!

I reached for my spare Bible that I keep under my driver’s seat and opened up to Psalm 34:13-14

Keep your tongue from evil
and your lips from deceitful speech.
Turn away from evil and do
what is good;
seek peace and pursue it. (HCSB)

For all of the anger that sits deep inside of me, I will not retaliate. I will not speak evil nor be deceitful. I will begin to learn how to use this experience to grow closer to God and make peace with the past.

Dear God:
Today I open my heart and make myself available to experience and express the fullness of your presence. I choose to begin to heal and renew my strength. Be with me as I go about and explore my new life. Amen.

Leave a Reply

