Killing a Wasp with Oven Cleaner…Beth Farley

Killing a Wasp with Oven Cleaner

I was gripped with fear! With a cup of coffee in hand, I settled down on the couch to sink into my journal. I was all curled up in my favorite spot when something on the curtain caught my eye. What was it? The next half hour became one of the scariest moments I’ve experienced here, in this new place I now call home.

Have you ever been so gripped with fear that you began to panic? I have many times and this was no exception. There it was, a huge WASP hanging on the curtain. I don’t like bees, wasps or hornets because the few times I’ve been bitten or stung, I’ve had a reaction.

As I stepped toward the window, I knew I needed to get this wasp out. With a Quick faithful prayer, “Lord help me” I dashed to the kitchen sink, reached under and grabbed the can with the yellow cap. I furiously popped off the cap, and trembled towards my prey. I began to spray and the loud buzzing bugger wouldn’t die; it held on to the fabric. I then began to spray like a firefighter wrestling with a whopper of a fire. Finally, after a massive drenching, the wasp fell to the floor. Once I removed the killer wasp, I replaced the yellow cap onto the can only to notice that I just had annihilated the wasp with OVEN CLEANER!securedownload-3

1Sam 17: 45
David said to the Philistine, “You come against me with sword and spear and javelin, but I come against you in the name of the Lord Almighty, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied”. (NIV)

Once everything was all cleaned up, I sat down and thought about the story of David and Goliath. When Goliath began closing in to attack, David ran to meet the giant head on. As he ran, he reached into his shepherd’s bag and took out a stone, placed it in his sling, and hurled it at the giant hitting him directly in the forehead. He used a stone, I used a can of oven cleaner. The moral of the story is that God was with us.

God rescued me from a very dangerous sting. Even thought I feared the wasp who had become my Goliath, I jumped into action with faith.

What is your Goliath that you are facing?

Psalm 121:2-4
My help comes from the Lord,
the Maker of heaven & earth.
He will not let your foot slip
He who watches over you will not slumber;
indeed, he who watches over Israel
will neither slumber nor sleep. (NIV)

What assurance do you find in these words regarding God’s care for you?

Leave a Reply

