At the Cross: by Beth Farley

 

 

cross

Do you eve sit back and wonder what in the world God is trying to say to you? What lesson are you supposed to glean from this particular time of your life? I admit it; I do. When I start to think about situations I’ve been through or am currently trudging through, I have to try to put it all into perspective, think positive and remember what Christ did for me on the cross. What does the cross mean to you?

Every Christian believer, it seems, has at least a basic understanding of the Cross. We know that the work of Jesus on Calvary is the bridge to God. But many of us tend to forget that a relationship with God without the cross is impossible, for without the shedding of Christ’s blood there is no forgiveness of sins.

The Cross of Christ is powerful. Just as eternal salvation can’t happen without the Cross, daily salvation can’t happen without it either. The Cross is not just a Biblical Story or an ornamental wall hanging. But rather, the Cross is God’s wonderful plan for our eternity and it is also His plan for a happy life for each believer.

Paul wrote in1Corinthians 1:18:
For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing but it is God’s power to us who are being saved. HCSB

The Cross has the power to take us through any situation we are facing.

Paul’s first letter to the Christians in the Greek City of Corinth was written to people who had miserable relationships going on. There was no peace for them and much pain. Paul said this:

When I came to you, brothers, announcing the testimony of God to you, I did not come with brilliance of speech or wisdom. For I didn’t think it was a good idea to know anything among you except Jesus Christ and Him crucified. 1Corinthians 2:1-2 HCSB

We like Paul, sometimes stumble through our day lacking speech or wisdom, maybe even direction and knowledge. There is one thing though that we can be confident in is that Christ was nailed to that cross for us. Only the Cross can bring us together with God. Only the Cross can bring us forgiveness and peace.
What is it that you need to bring to the cross? What is it that you already brought to the cross only to take it back again? I can’t help but close my eyes and think of the chorus to At The Cross.

At the cross, at the cross,
Where I first saw the light,
And the burden of my heart rolled away –
It was there by faith I received my sight,
And now I am happy all the day. 

Leave a Reply

