My NIV…by Beth Farley

There it was; way in the back of the closet. I had been longing to buy another NIV Life Application Bible but didn’t want to part with the enormous price.(my old one bit the dust) I love the Bible no matter what version and currently I am studying out of the HCSB, but I was in desperate need of some life application insight last night.

I was having a “woe-is-me” pity party last night and instead of turning on the TV and doing nothing, I took advantage of the quiet house and dug into the book of James; not where I left off weeks ago, but from the beginning. I grabbed my journal and just wrote for ME.Holding Glasses over Bible

Before settling down, I had to clean out the closet in the spare room because our house is on the market. Low and behold, there it was; way in the back of the closet I found my daughters NIV Life Application Bible. Thank you Jesus that I didn’t have to buy another one but the biggest blessing was the words that leapt into my heart right off of the pages.

I was reminded in the beginning of James that the wisdom I need is in three parts.
First, I need practical wisdom…where I can overcome trials with God.
Second, I need divine wisdom; God’s Spirit lives within me to guide me right from wrong.
Third, I need Christ-like wisdom which means I am ultimately asking to be more like Christ.

If at first you don’t succeed, dive back in. I am staying in James some more today with the NIV Life Application Bible just because it is WISE for me to stay there until God tells me to go elsewhere. That’s wisdom!

James :1-1-2
Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your developed perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking in anything.

 

What are you trying to persevere with? Join us atliving by grace

Leave a Reply

