Map-quest…by Beth Farley

shan and alex

I am a free-lance writer who’s used to figuring out topics to write about. Sometimes I manage the risk of my options without including God. In other words, I am a control freak. I do not like walking through life feeling out of control and sometimes I manage my life with knowledge rather than faith.
I’ve been criticized for reading every possible side effect of every kind of medication I am currently taking. Knowledge is vital but my life right now is calling for more faith than knowledge.
Trekking this path requires me to allow God to walk side by side with me. I need to walk this trail because this Texas plateau is where God chose to take me beyond my understand; to trust beyond my control to faith in Him. I have been living in a world of understand, MY understanding, not God’s. God is asking me to follow Him, not myself to a world where only He can guide me. This is a world where I’m out of the management seat.
Have you ever been there? Have you ever been on the wrong trail? The simple proverb 3:5-6 is so underestimated. Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding: In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.
I remember when I taught in a Christian School I had to teach the students to memorize this scripture. Looking back, I remember doing that but can’t remember talking about the meaning. I wish I could re-do that but I can’t.
Walking the Texas trail with everything being new in my life, I have to trust in something bigger than myself. Again, trust in the Lord with all my heart…Even Solomon took a lifetime to figure out that he was too weak, sinful, and stupid to manage his own life. Ecclesiastes.
I am traveling with a new map; God’s map! It’s the map that navigates my travels with His direction. I will not read my own map with outdated streets. How about you? Are you feeling lost on your journey today.

Psalm 108:3-5 NIV

I will praise you, O LORD among the nations; I will sing of you among the peoples. For great is your love, higher than the heavens; your faithfulness reaches to the skies. Be exalted, O God, above the heavens, and let your glory be over all the earth.

Leave a Reply

