Cutting Down Bamboo

securedownload-8

Today I took on a huge task. I promised my son I wouldn’t do it; but I did. I cut down a bamboo tree. Not only did I cut it down but I cut it with a huge kitchen butcher knife.
My son instructed me to get an estimate on having it cut down. But, stubborn me, I figured I could save him some money and get some exercise at the same time, so I did it my way.securedownload-14

I walked into the back yard and thought, “How hard can this be?” I changed my clothes, grabbed my work gloved and kitchen butcher knife. I hacked and chopped, pulled and snapped the branches then loaded ix bags worth of bamboo. Then I hauled it all down to his driveway for the trash men to pick up.

Four hours later, two skin abrasions and sweat pouring down my face and back, I finally came to a kick-in-the-pants conclusion; I should have listened to my son. Today I am very sore and am finding it very hard to move around.securedownload-10

I do the same thing with God. He instructs me to do something one way or not to do it at all, but I, in my own stubbornness, do it anyway. Been there? Just frustrates me when I know I should not have fast food and there I am in the drive thru of a fast food joint. It’s a never ending process with me; with most of us.

This new journey of mine is about my actions and listening to the heart of God before making decisions. I believe I cared too much about this bamboo task. Hear me out. Sometimes a person can be over-caring; especially women. I over cared too much that I put myself in danger. I took on a responsibility just because of my ego and to help my son. He knows my physical limitations and that’s why he said, “No mom.”

God puts boundaries all around us. His boundaries help create mutual balance in our lives. They help us keep ourselves accountable for our actions. There was a boundary set yesterday and I crossed the line. God has planted me here for a time to write, slow down, soul search, seek a forgiving heart and move forward in my life. In Ecclesiastes we are told “There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven,” (3:1) Had I taken the time to relax, write, and do as I was instructed to do, I wouldn’t be so sore and tired today.securedownload-15

Today, I will stop struggling with having to slow down and stop taking on huge tasks when I’m still recovering. I will let go of my belief that I have to do everything because I am not paying any rent. I will replace it with the belief that I can walk this journey in ease and peace.

Have you crossed a line lately? Did you take something too far? Did you step over God’s boundary?

Psalm 78:1 O my people, hear my teaching, listen to the words of my mouth. NIV

living by grace

4 thoughts on “Cutting Down Bamboo

  1. SandyT August 29, 2014 / 1:08 pm

    Challenging….convicting…needed reminder…thanks my friend…:)sandyT/kc

    Like

  2. Beth Farley August 29, 2014 / 3:52 pm

    Yes, it was. You are welcome and thanks for stopping in.

    Like

  3. Norma Groshans August 30, 2014 / 9:02 am

    I am much older than you and still forget where my boundaries are. But thank God, He always brings me back from my mistakes. Thanks for reminding me to set my boundaries.

    Like

Leave a Reply

