Playing 2nd Fiddle…Beth Farley

As_the_Fiddle_Plays_Wallpaper_hrjo8

http://www.scenicreflections.com.

 

What does Playing 2nd-Fiddle mean? In all of my searching, each definition states the same thing: It means to be a less important role than someone or something.

I heard this term quoted recently in a conversation about a relationship. “I didn’t mean to make you feel like 2nd fiddle,” was said.

We all have been in that position where we have felt less than first priority. Maybe it was when you were playing sports in school and you didn’t kick the wining goal but you gave the pass. He got the praise, you got nothing. Maybe your co-worker got recognition for something you suggested; she got the praises and you got nothing. Or worse off, maybe in your current relationship you have felt like 2nd fiddled, less than others, or down on the bottom of the priority pole.

I’ve have been working hard at my relationship with God and earlier this week I got to thinking about how I make Him play 2nd fiddle in times of my life. I can get so caught up in doing life, that God becomes low on the priority pole.

As a Christian writer, I’m in the Word quite often but that does not mean that I don’t stumble and fall or forget that God is at the top of my Spiritual pyramid. I just forget to show Him how important He is.

In Haggai chapter one, The Temple was the focal point of Judah’s relationship with God, but the people got their priorities all messed up and they were not putting God in first place in their lives Hg 1:9, “You expect much, but see, it turned out to be little, what you brought home I blew away. Why?” Declares the Lord Almighty. “Because of my house, which remains a ruin, while each of you is busy with your own house.” (NIV)

Fall is upon us. New ministry opportunities are beginning. Bible Studies are on the rise and new Sunday School classes are under way. These are fantastic tools tat can help us to keep God top priority. But, if we don’t make our own personal relationship with Him even more important than we will certainly be making God 2nd fiddle.

Is God at the top of your priority list or are you making Him 2nd fiddle in your life?

Join us in the conversation at Living by Grace a Facebook community.

living by gracehttp://www.facebook.com/pages/Living-by-Grace

 

Leave a Reply

