Are your walls crumbling around you? Beth Farley

 

th

 

 

Foundation Malfunction

My house is on the market and what a nightmare it has been. After months of keeping the home in tip-top shape, we finally had a solid offer. I was elated UNTIL: the inspector said the support beam in the crawl space had caused a foundation malfunction. Under the advice of our Realtor we hired a licensed foundation contractor to give us an estimate on the repair job. We knew that if your foundation is not firm, the whole house could collapse.

As I crawled into bed that night I got to thinking about the house and how I’ve been living in it for eight years. I have trusted this house NOT to crumble. I have trusted it with family and loved ones. Then, I thought even deeper about my own foundation and where I put my own trust.
Christ is our solid foundation. Our promises are based on His truths. In

1 Corinthians 10:7-11 we are instructed on how to stay far away from temptations in our lives. In other words, don’t allow your foundation to crumble around you.

 

Vs.7…Do not become idolaters…No problem for me!
Vs.8…Do not commit sexual immorality…No problem for me!
Vs.9…Do not test Christ…Again, no problem there either.
Most of us would say our foundation in Christ keeps us far from the Idolatry, sexual impurity and the testing of our Lord.
Vs.10…Nor Should we complain as some did. OUCH! That one is a little harder for most of us. I am quick to complain and grumble when things are not going my way.
Vs.11…THESE WERE WRITTEN AS EXAMPLES AND WARNINGS.
We have so many temptations coming at us in so many directions. How can we stand firm on God’s promises; His foundation?
Vs.12…Whoever thinks he stands must be careful not to fall. Sometimes our problems can cause us to become plagued with temptations. Wrong temptations warn us that we are standing on the wrong side of the house.
Vs.13…God is faithful, He will not allow us to be tempted beyond what we are. With our temptations He will also provide a way out.

After several days of not being able to rest properly due to our foundational issues, the inspector finally came in and gave our home a clean bill of health. The official report said, NO STRUCTURAL-FOUNDATIONAL ISSUES.
We can receive the same report from God. Stay in the Word, pray, continue to confess your sins and believe. Christ will never shift, move or crumble.

 

3 thoughts on “Are your walls crumbling around you? Beth Farley

  1. Norma Groshans September 9, 2014 / 1:01 pm

    Beth, you know me. Everything reminds me of a song or hymn.

    How firm a foundation, ye saints of the Lord,
    Is laid for your faith in His excellent word!
    What more can He say than to you He hath said
    To you who for refuge to Jesus have fled.
    Fear not, I am with thee, oh, be not dismayed,
    For I am thy God, and will still give thee aid;
    I’ll strengthen thee, help thee, and cause thee to stand,
    Upheld by My gracious, omnipotent hand.
    When through deep waters I call thee to go,
    The rivers of sorrow shall not overflow;
    For I will be with thee thy trouble to bless,
    And sanctify to thee thy deepest distress.
    When through fiery trials thy pathway shall lie,
    My grace, all-sufficient, shall be thy supply;
    The flame shall not harm thee; I only design
    Thy dross to consume and thy gold to refine.
    The soul that on Jesus doth lean for repose,
    I will not, I will not, desert to his foes;
    That soul, though all hell should endeavor to shake,
    I’ll never, no never, no never forsake.

    How Firm a Foundation
    Words by John Keith. Thoughts by the Holy Spirit.

    Like

  2. Beth Farley September 9, 2014 / 3:39 pm

    I love those words, Norma. Thank you for the reminder.
    Beth

    Like

  3. Sandy Temple September 9, 2014 / 7:56 pm

    You have both blessed/encouraged me…thanks friends…:)sandyT

    Like

Leave a Reply

