Gecko’s and Laughter

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So my friendly neighbor came over this afternoon with a Coke in one hand and some fun cookie cutters in the other. I love when she just pops over. She always has a huge smile and a kitchen gadget to share. She is the reason why you are seeing more baked goods on my Facebook page. I’m re-charged about cooking and baking again.

How did God know that I needed her to stop in this afternoon? He had a greater plan than just sharing conversation and cookie cutters. While showing me the cookie cutters a few fell onto the wooden floor and rolled under the big round chair. So, I pulled the chair out only to scream “Eek!” as I tried to hop onto the chair. She just laughed at me and said, “Here, grab my coke and get me a paper towel.” I ran to the kitchen, grabbed what she needed, handed it to her and hopped back onto my safety zone, the couch.

She gently got the little 1 inch gecko onto the paper towel and brought it outside. Once the critter was released and the door was shut, I was able to come down off of my safe spot. I’ve seen these little guys outside and they really don’t bother me but inside??? Um, that’s a horse of a different color.

After a good hearty belly aching laugh, we proceeded to visit for a spell.

She has since gone back home and as I was working on my book, I had to take the time to reflect on this funny incident. Had she not come over, I would have found that little critter at some point, possibly in a shoe, which that thought kinda grosses me out or worse yet, my dog might have gotten a hold of the thing and … Oh I don’t want to think about it!

God always shows up at the right time. It can be at a Bible Study, during a meeting, a church service, or when sipping coke with a friend. God knows our every need. He knew I would have freaked out if I were home alone. I might still be on the couch! Remember, I’m not from here. I don’t know such things as gecko’s. He also knew I needed a good laugh and some friendly fellowship.

God provided for the physical need and the emotional need as well. He is sufficient in all areas of our lives.

Isaiah 40:31
But they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint

Leave a Reply

