A Bad Hair Day

 

IMG_0080

I didn’t wake up with a messy head of hair but after a disturbing phone call, my day became a perm-gone-bad kinda day! All it took was one ugly phone call to confuse me, irritate me and turn my day upside down. The worst part was I complained about it over and over again to my family. (Thanks for always being there) I did this all day long. The whining, pouting, and anger clung onto my marrow until I finally got still before the Lord.

The phone call put me into a state of feeling rejected. I felt like my feelings didn’t even matter; and that’s always been an issue with this particular person. I allowed the words to rule my emotions and send me into darkness.

During my quiet time with God, He reminded me that I don’t have to allow Satan or anyone to send me into distress. That is His favorite thing to do; attack us and cause us to function out of fear rather than faith.

How can we escape our bad-hair days? We can’t but we can come before the Lord and ask for help. In Matthew 10:14 Jesus spoke to His disciples saying, “Shake it off.” Basically Jesus is telling us to not let it bother us or keep us from what He has called us to do.

If anyone will not welcome you or listen to your words, shake the dust off your feet when you leave that home or town.

Matthew 10:14 NIV

Shaking it off is not so simple though, is it? It’s easier to stay in the pain than to fight for the freedom. But the fight doesn’t have to be so difficult if we would remember to just shake off the rejection and put on the full armor of God. Ephesians 6:10-18

Jesus also told His disciples not to be concerned about rejection, because in reality, people who rejected them were basically rejecting Christ Himself.

He who listens to you listens to me; he who rejects you rejects me; but he who rejects me rejects him who sent me.

Luke 10:16 NIV

Do I still feel rejected? Yes, I do. Am I walking in rejection? No, I am not. Rejection does not have a hold of me today. So when I feel like a bad-hair day is coming on, I try to stop in my tracks, think about the emotion and get before the Lord with a can of hair spray so that He can groom my emotions.IMG_0126

Leave a Reply

