In the Groove of Positive Attitude…Beth Farley

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Stepping out of our comfort zone is a difficult thing to do. There are many levels of doing something different but many of us are reluctant to make the change.

I’ve made changes in my life and right now I’m in the middle of a HUGE change. I’m learning that adjusting to change is all about getting into the groove of a positive attitude.

I’ll admit, it’s not easy but there are days where it just falls into place and that’s because I make the effort. In the process of trying to turn my negatives into positives, I’ve had to deal with the consequences of facing my faults. Who wants to face our faults; not I!!! The good news though is that once we are faced with negative thoughts, we can clearly see how we can change our behavior. Are we always successful? No! That’s why we need Jesus.

For he has rescued us from the dominion of darkness and brought us into the kingdom of the Son he loves. Colossians 1:13

Often we can’t change the circumstances of our lives but we can always changes the inner perspective of the situation.

Never did I think I would be living in my son’s house in Houston, TX. Never did I think I’d be a freelance writer, hanging onto the very thread of life that’s been destined to me. I’ve been trying to memorize the following scripture and can’t help replace Egypt for Houston. LOL

Genesis 46:3,4 Then he said, “I am God, the God of your father. Do not be afraid to go down to Egypt, for there I will make you into a great nation. I myself will go down with you to Egypt, and I will also bring you up again, and Joseph’s hand shall close your eyes.

I remember several months back complaining to a Christian friend that I hated the rain. We were driving down the road, headed to Bible study and I filled the car with several minutes of negative energy about the rain, the clouds and the gray gloomy look. When we pulled into the parking spot she said, “I have learned to love the rain. It brings new life and makes everything green and green is my favorite color.” That statement was HUGE to me.

I have placed my rainbow in the clouds. It is the sign of my covenant with you and with all the earth. Genesis: 9:13 NLT

IMG_0900

The way we respond to life has a powerful impact on how our lives work for us. Lately my days operate on extreme emotional temperatures. When I operate on the negative circumstances of my life, I’m get lethargic, fearful, angry and frustrated. When I operate on the positives, I become joyful, compassionate and maybe even a little bit courageous. Have my circumstances changed? NO! But my perspective has.

Are you living on a steady diet of negativity? If so, try to change your negative thoughts into a positive. Yes, the clouds are gloomy and the darkness is depressing but I am getting into the groove of positive attitude and am learning how to dance in the rain-drops.

2 thoughts on “In the Groove of Positive Attitude…Beth Farley

  1. Jennifer Slattery September 30, 2014 / 7:08 pm

    What a wise and gentle friend you have! Rather than correcting or condemning, she modeled. 🙂

    I totally get what you’re saying. It’s amazing he havoc a wayward thought can bring, and the peace created by a Christ – centered one.

    Like

    • Beth Farley October 1, 2014 / 8:15 am

      Thanks Jen. Yes, our minds are the first place Satan would like to mess with. I miss that wise and gentle friend and but am thankful for email! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

