Surrender to Vibrancy

FullSizeRender

Look at this flower! I’m not what it is but it’s growing right outside the front door. I watched it for a couple of days before it blossomed into this beautiful, vibrant, red flower standing on a single stalk with shooting spiked petals.

When I see things in nature that I’ve never encountered before I will most often stop to admire. My children have inherited that trait and now I see my daughter doing the same thing with my granddaughter. We love nature. It makes us smile.
Since my recent transplant to Texas, I’ve had some fascinating moments with God’s creations. I’ve experienced gecko’s running along the hard wood floors, vibrant flowers, Christmas holly near the pool, unbelievable picturesque clouds and colorful rainbows.

I’ve also experienced some not-so-exciting creations as well. The wasps are twice the size here and always willing to prey on you. I’ve also never seen so many little annoying, biting sweat bees with tiny stingers that hurt. Last week I experienced a violent storm that cracked lightning onto the house, wiping out alliances and sent my shaking body to the couch with feet tucked under me.

Nature compels me to ponder life and people. I can think of vibrant people who elicit sweet fragrant love for God and life. I have also encountered those who are willing to prey on me with hurtful stings.

Regardless of stinging personalities, how can we be like the vibrant red flower and continue to smile?

We can make the choice to be kind. It’s not always easy. When I give advise believe me, it is for me as well. People are going to rub us wrong but we can choose our response. We are holy and chosen by God and are commanded to try to walk as Jesus did. The key word here is “try.” God knows our short-comings but we have to at least try.

Deuteronomy 7:6
“For you are a holy people to the LORD your God; the LORD your God has chosen you to be a people for His own possession out of all the peoples who are on the face of the earth”.

Psalm 15:2
He who walks with integrity, and works righteousness, And speaks truth in his heart. (NASB)

We need to surrender hurtful people.

When I lived on my farm, I used to love watching our ducks floating without a care in the world. They would be curled up into themselves fast asleep. With their slick tufted heads tucked into their bodies, they bobbed peacefully in the lapping of the pond water. When awake, they would peacefully swim their patterns on the water. Snapping turtles lurked under that water. Snakes lurked under that water; but the ducks were in total surrender to “whatever.”

Let’s just sit quietly and breathe releasing the bruises encountered by others. Let’s not analyze them or solve them but strive to be like the ducks and surrender to “whatever.” Let’s feel the lapping of the beautiful world around us and give God the praise.  IMG_0900

The heavens declare the glory of God;
the skies proclaim the work of his hands!
Psalm 19:1 NIV

Leave a Reply

