Mechanical Pencils…Beth Farley

FullSizeRender-3

As I was clicking my new mechanical pencil a thought came over me. I would not even be writing if God didn’t give me the desire or gift.

Like a painter with his brush or a potter with his clay, we all have God-given talents and need to use them to glorify God.

I was recently hired as a part-time care giver for an agency here in Houston. I was not sure how I would be able to do this new job as well as write. After all, God has called me to write and that’s what I’ve been doing but I’ve not been able to make a living from it. I finally realized that I got His plan all wrong.

You see, I thought I had to write to sell my work and make a living. But, when I took on this care-giver job I was asked to teach a Women’s Sunday School class based on the Bible Study I wrote; FOCUS; Faith on Christ Under Stress. I thought I was supposed to sell that study but for now, God just wants me to share it. I get to share what I’ve written with precious women and I get to make a living from something I also love to do; help others. And…may I add…I received a check for an article I submitted a few months back. Wow God!!!

The care-giver job has been a huge blessing. I have a passion for writing but a huge compassion for elderly people. I’ve always been in connection with them through various jobs or volunteer opportunities. Even when my children were young I used to take them to the local nursing homes just to visit and deliver goodies.

The assignment that I’m on right now has been a total blessing. The company I work for has checked up on me to see if I’m doing okay. The clients have been very kind. Their home is like a vacation oasis and the other care-giver and I hit it off immediately. I can’t share enough about the client himself; he has made me laugh and appreciate my life just a little bit more. That’s God working in my life!

We think our vocational lives ought to be driven by “oughts.” Although that might be noble, we do not find our callings by conforming ourselves to some sort of abstract mold. I thought staying home full-time writing was it…Writing is it but so is care-giving, teaching women and whatever else God will put on my plate.

We find our callings by claiming our authentic selfhood, by being who we are in Christ!

Therefore I, the prisoner for the Lord urge you to walk worthy of the calling you have received with all humility and gentleness, with patience, accepting one another in love. Ephesians 4:1 HCSB

Leave a Reply

