A Wall-hanging…Beth Farley

FullSizeRender-4

As For Me and My House, We Will Serve the Lord.

A picture with the scripture, As For Me and My House, We Will Serve the Lord hung in the entry way of my old home. As soon as you walked in, there it was. It simply was a sign that mirrored my heart. I wanted others to know that although I may fail, my heart’s desire is to serve the Lord.

My picture now hangs in my bedroom. I am living with my son and lets just say that he wasn’t digging the flowers. As I was looking at it this morning I was so thankful to my son that I have a home to live in.

I like the ESV version of Joshua 24:15…

And if it is evil in your eyes to serve the LORD, choose this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your fathers served in the region beyond the River, or the gods of the Amorites in whose land you dwell. But as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.

This scripture does not say that we will always succeed at serving the Lord but that we should not find it evil to serve Him. The house also does not mean the structural building you live in; it means your heart.

Joshua took a bold stand to serve the Lord regardless of its popularity. (Numbers 14: 10)

In our culture,we naturally assume that achievement is the natural path to happiness; get on it, do the work, and enduring a baleful journey of our indefinite years. We eventually arrive at bliss but find that there is an emptiness within. That’s because we forgot to serve others. We forgot to give of ourselves. We forgot to choose whom we will serve.

What does the scripture say to you?

Leave a Reply

