Shake off Your Anger…Beth Farley

th panic

Aristotle says, “Anyone cane angry; that is easy, but to be angry with the right person at the right time, and for the right purpose and in the right way, that is not within everyone’s power and that is not easy.”

In Mark 3:5 Jesus was angry…Let’s take a look…After looking around at them with anger and sorrow with the hardness of their hearts, Jesus told the man, “Stretch out your hand,” so he stretched it out and his hand was restored.

Jesus was angry. He was angry at the attitude of the people while he simply was there to heal this mans paralyzed hand. He had the right to be angry. His anger was justified and was at the right time, for the right purpose and in the right way. WE ARE NOT able to do that. Sometimes we lash out at others when we are angry with ourselves. We just don’t have control over our anger.

     Sometimes I have an attitude worse than a pre-teen with raging hormones. I find it easier to be angry at times than to deal with the pain. Please say you do as well!

     I don’t want to have an angry attitude. I would much prefer to walk by the “Fruit of the Spirit” Galatians 5:22-23. I just simply can’t do it though without God’s help.

What can we do, what can I do, to shake off anger and not let it control us?

1. Confront the anger and ask yourself, How much of this situation is in my control? Hopefully we’ll see that none of it is in our control at all. We always have the choice to make decisions and sometimes the results are a direct consequence of a bad decision made but, we can only grow from the experience; not control it. All things work for good for those who Love the Lord and are called according to his purpose. Roman’s 8:28
2. Be thankful for the good that is happening in this day. I lost my home in Missouri, but I have a safe roof over my head in Texas. I am divorced but I have three grown children that I adore more than anything. In everything, give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you. 1 Thessalonians 5:18

3. Let it go! I just finished a six-week study onto he topic of letting things go. Letting go of control is one of the hardest things for me to do. Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.

Instead of longing for God to change the trajectory of your life’s storyline, look for his face as you cry out for help.

You can’t change the weather but you can take an umbrella!   victory in Jesus

Leave a Reply

