From Pedal to Port…Beth Farley

new_barefoot_shaped_gas_pedal_by_mcmxc2-d31k5xw

I took a very humbling assignment today. Most often when God humbles me, I’m in favor of it but Sometimes I don’t. Then there are times I flat-out cry; today was one of those times.

I didn’t cry because I felt good about myself but rather I engaged in a very different experience. My assignment was only 10 miles away; no biggie. All I had to do was pick up a very kind elderly woman and take her to an appointment. “Sure, I can do that,” I replied to my Coordinator.

With Map-quest in hand and GPS turned on, I was on my way to arrive at her house by 1:45. After a ton of Houston traffic and only one wrong turn, I pulled into her driveway right on time.

She was waiting at the door with a panicked look. After quick introductions, I helped her lock up, get into the car and off we went. Up one ramp, merging onto another, I was trying to engage in conversation but found it somewhat irritating when she would start talking just as the GPS lady would direct me. I was white-knuckling it all the way there. What was supposed to take us 40 minutes turned into 55 minutes with construction and a gazillion stop lights.

We pulled into the valet parking and quickly walked into this HUGE hospital. She was sure she knew what elevator to take so I let her direct. When we got to the elevator she said she wasn’t sure. I pulled out my directions, got us onto the correct elevator. Up to the 2nd floor we went; took our right and then our second right.

FINALLY THERE!!!

     While she was filling out her paper work and I sat and took a deep breath, I looked up and realized we were in the chemotherapy unit of the hospital. She had to have her port taken out.

I hung my head. I felt ashamed for not listening to her and engaging. It wasn’t that I didn’t want to, I just wanted to get us there on time. I had this sudden feeling of unconditional love for this woman. When they called her name, I looked into her green eyes and asked, “Do you want me to go with you?” I followed her back to have what she called a routine port removal. ROUTINE? Wow!

I was so glad that the nurse was running late because I was finally able to hear about her world traveling stories, her family stories, her history with Houston and so much more. She let me look at the port, touch it as she shared her story with cancer that started to attack her only six months ago.

I wrote a blog yesterday about anger. Here is a fine example of someone who has the right to be angry. What was I angry about today? I have forgotten and I don’t care. This was God’s reminder to take advantage of every happy moment we encounter.

     Ephesians 2:7 Amplified … “He did this that He might clearly demonstrate through the ages to come the immeasurable (limitless, surpassing) riches of His free grace (His unmerited favor) in {His} kindness and goodness of heart toward us in Christ Jesus.”

Wherever we are, this can be the best time of our lives. Let’s get out of the Debbie Downer mood and embrace the day.

Leave a Reply

