Praying Gecko’s…Beth Farley

gecko-4

A few weeks ago I wrote about my fear of the little gecko’s that often slithered about the house from time to time. Well, I have found that I cannot only catch them and release them back into the yard, but I enjoy watching them around the outside light at night.

After the front porch light has been on for about 20 minutes, they all start to migrate towards the heated light. There’s usually anywhere from three to six of them that hang out there every night.

Last night there they were; the gecko’s were gathered around the porch light. I which I was able to get a good picture of them because it looked like they were holding hands/claws and praying around the light. In my silly mind I believe they were signing praises for the warmth of the light.

I’ve had many opportunities to participate in a prayer circle. I remember when my children were young and we would participate in the annual “See You at the Pole,” which was a National rally that musters students to meet around their school’s flagpole to publicly seek God, pray, and read scripture and worship. I have been part of women’s prayer circles, “Mom’s in Touch” prayer circles, Cottage prayer circles and just holding hands with my family in a small intimate prayer circle.

Being able to pray in America is a huge freedom and blessing!!!

God listens to prayer and God works in prayer; even when you don’t know how to pray. When we pray to God we must understand that He is the Holy Creator, and Sustainer, of the universe. Our basic motivation in prayer must be for His glory and the furtherance of His Kingdom.

Matthew 6:9-13 Jesus said:

This, then, is how you should pray:
“Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come
your will be done,
On earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread

And forgive us of our debts,
as we also forgive our debtors
And lead us not into temptation,
but deliver us from the evil one.”

Do you need prayer today? Seek Him…He will listen to you.living by grace

Leave a Reply

