Wheelchair Bound Blessings…Beth Farley

Aluminium-Electric-Wheelchairs-Power-Wheelchair

Reclining in her wheelchair, we began to visit. Ten years ago her body was attacked by some sort of MS and within those ten years she went from braces and a cane to total-wheelchair-confinement.

With bones pointing out in all directions and heavy eyes, she smiles up at me and says, “I only have two pity parties a year and they’re bad.” I looked at her and said, “You are so special. Get some rest.” She reclined while did some house chores for her.

I sat for a moment and thought about what she had said. She only has two pity parties a year? I have two a week, and they are terrible! I can stomp, cry, crunch my face, say evil things all because a pair of pants don’t fit me just right.

There was a reason for me to be at that house. I thought I was there to bless her, but she blessed me and made me reflect on how good my life is.

1 Thessalonians 5:18 ESV
Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for us.

After my new friend awoke from her nap and I was feeding her, we visited about family, friends and faith. I asked her how she stays so positive in her situation. And she replied, “I cannot change the cards I have been dealt. As long as I can talk, I will pray, give thanks and help others with my words.” Wow!

Are you struggling to stay positive in your current situation?

James 5:13 ESV
Is anyone among you suffering? Let him pray. Is anyone cheerful? Let him sing praises.

I know how hard it is to find positive in your day at times. This assignment was a huge blessing; they all have been but this one for sure. She will always be in my heart and prayers. When I begin to have my own pity party, I will remember the wheelchair bound woman.

Leave a Reply

