Suspicious Minds…Beth Farley

Singing Elvis Presley With a Friend

~ۓ
I was assigned to a new client today. Another blessing in my pocket; may I add. This woman is 92 (I believe) and has so much spunk and became a huge blessing to me.

After visiting for a bit at her little kitchen table, she said, “Let’s get out of here!” So, with keys in the ignition and our seat-belts on, we headed towards town.

I spent the most amazing time with her in the second hand store watching her try on all sorts of crazy hats, scarves and gloves. But what really threw me for a loop was that she wanted to get onto a bicycle that was for sale. When I explained that we probably shouldn’t do that, she looked at me and said, “It’s okay, I already have one.” I laughed.

While sliding hangers and lifting small tchotchkes to check for the prices, she asked me if I liked, “Suspicious Minds.” I wasn’t sure what she was referring to until all of the sudden she began to sing the song by Elivs Presley. She sang it incredibly loud with her bottom teeth jutting out. (She told me that opera singers sing with their bottom teeth out as to sound louder and to have their words more pronounced.)As the people in the store began to listen to her sing, rather than tossing her some incriminating looks, they were smiling instead. I believe her singing lifted their moods; it did mine.Laughingboy

Why are we always so concerned with other people think of us? Why was it so easy for this 92 year old woman to sing an Elvis Presley song in the middle of a store and not care what people think?

God’s Word tells us not to worry about what others think but rather what He thinks. For example,

Proverbs 29:25 tells us: The fear of man is a snare, but the one who trust in the Lord is protected.

And IICorinthians 5:9 says: So whether we are at home or away, we make it our aim to please him.

What my new friend shared with me was that she was taught at a very young age, to always be kind and to always bring a smile to the faces of others.

After shopping and as we finished our lunch at the diner, we proceeded to walk out the door, holding hands and singing, “Suspicious Minds.”

Let’s make an effort to spread a little joy tomorrow. Hold a door open, pay for a coffee, sing a song; whatever it is that God places on your heart, please don’t miss the blessing.

Numbers 6:24-26 NIV
“The Lord bless you
and keep you;
the Lord make his face shine on you
and be gracious to you;
the Lord turn his face toward you
and give you peace.

2 thoughts on “Suspicious Minds…Beth Farley

  1. Norma November 12, 2014 / 9:00 pm

    Beth, I love the blogs you share about your new senior citizen friends. God Bless you. Norma

    In God We Trust Norma

    ________________________________

    Like

  2. Beth Farley November 14, 2014 / 10:36 am

    Thanks Norma. I am so glad that you’re still reading and keeping up with my life. I miss you gals so much but love how God is working in my life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

