Connecting the Dots: Beyond I Do Bible Study, Beth Farley

Connecting the Dots

 

11772678-clouseup-of-red-pushpin-on-the-map

Ruth 4:1-12

I love when God validates His transactions in our lives. When we keep our focus on Him, He connects every dot on your journey of faith. In today’s reading, we will see how God perfectly connects the dots of Ruth’s life.

Let’s connect the Dots:

Dot #1: (vs.3)
Then he said to the closest relative, Naomi, who has come back from the land of Moab, has to sell the piece of land which belonged to our brother Elimelech.

The deal was out in the open, honest, before ten leaders from the town. Boaz presents the offer for the relative to buy the land and at first the man agrees. I can’t imagine how Ruth must have felt knowing she was part of the package deal. I would be scared out of my wits, not having any control over that kind of arrangement; But, this was their custom and she remained faithful.

Dot #2: (vs.6)
When Boaz reminded the relative that in buying the land he would then have to marry Ruth, the Widowed-Moabite Woman!In verse 6 the relative says, “Then I can’t redeem it, because this might endanger my own estate. You redeem the land; I cannot do it.”
I wonder if Ruth went from feeling fear to feeling rejection?

Again, I can’t imagine how she must have felt. First being fearful knowing that she might have to marry someone she didn’t love, then feeling rejected when the relative refused the deal.

In pondering this scripture, I immediately thought about myself; Beth the divorced-Christian. I did experience extreme fear and extreme rejection. Ruth remained faithful to God and waited for all of the dots to be connected. I too have stayed faithful and have seen the dots on my journey with God connected.

Which brings me to the last dot?

Final dot:
This was a sealed covenant; a done deal because sandals were exchanged which publicly validated the transaction. Boaz bought the land. What did this mean for Ruth? The two become married. You will see what transpires after they are married as Jen discusses the final part of this chapter. Please go ahead and read the rest of Chapter 4. Familiarize yourself with the finale of Ruth’s life.

Do you believe Ruth might have been afraid knowing that her life could be given away to a man she didn’t love even though it was their custom?

Do you believe Ruth might have felt rejection when the man didn’t want to marry her?

Have you personally witnessed a time where God strategically connected all of the dots on your road map with Him? If so, how did you feel?

Thank you so much for allowing me to help lead this study with Jennifer. I pray you have been inspired to remain faithful when the journey feels unbearable. I encourage you to go the distance with God because when you do, you will see the dots connect.

Any more thoughts???

beyond I do picture I would personally like the thank Jennifer Slattery for beautifully weaving the words into her novel, Beyond I Do. I loved the scriptures used as well as the real-life-emotional-characters.

One thought on “Connecting the Dots: Beyond I Do Bible Study, Beth Farley

Leave a Reply

