Our Sins Thrown to the Wind…Beth Farley

ID-100155113

She was only six years old when she decided to write, “I hate mom and dad” on her bedroom wall. Have you ever had one of your children do something that infuriated you? I can’t tell you how many times I wanted to just give up!

My now 28-year-old daughter and I joke about the time she wrote on the wall, and it’s usually when she is experiencing difficult situations with her very strong-willed beautiful daughter. When my daughter tells me about something my granddaughter has done wrong, I simply shake my head and think of how much alike they are.

My daughter is the most wonderful, caring, big-hearted woman and the most patient mother. When my granddaughter does something wrong or tells a lie, my daughter does what most parents do; she searches her heart and applies the punishment that best fits the crime. She never gives up on disciplining her and loves her daughter no matter what.

Fear not, O worm Jacob,
O maggot Israel;

I will help you, says the LORD. Isaiah 41:14

Like my struggling granddaughter, the people of Israel repeatedly broke the rules and didn’t keep the promises they made to God. He had every reason to be fed up, but He helped them. He was prepared to stand by them no matter what and He is prepared to stand by us too.

I know for myself, my daughter’s writing on the bedroom wall is nothing compared to the sins I’ve committed throughout my life. I am guilty of being prideful, defiant, rude, hateful, lustful, and jealous. Every time I experience a time of doubt, I become apparent of the enormous love and grace of God.

You will toss them in the air, and the wind will blow them all away; a whirlwind will scatter them. And the joy of the LORD will fill you to overflowing. You will glory in the Holy One of Israel. Isaiah 41:16 NLT

What the Jews were doing was placing the threshing floors.ID-10074611 on the tops of the hills and mountains, where they took the opportunity and advantage of the wind in winnowing their corn. There, a fanning process took place and the chaff was removed. The chaff was the refuse of winnowed corn. It was usually burned. Chaff was also used as a figure of wickedness. (Psalm 1:4) In Matthew 3:12 the chaff is burned up with unquenchable fire.

I would love to be able to toss my sins into the air and have the wind blow them away, however, that is not how it works. I need be alone with my Savior, confess my sins and allow Him to forgive me. They are no more, gone like the wind.

Have you taken the time to sit with God?

Have you allowed Him to remove your sins through the blood of Christ?

Please make sure you take the time today to be alone with God.

As the deer pants for streams of water,

so I long for you, O God.

I thirst for God, the living God,

When can I come and stand before him? Psalm 42:1-2 NLT

Because of Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross, we can stand, kneel, sit or lay down at any time with God. Won’t you visit with Him today?
Dear Gracious God, I turn to you especially during this Advent season, trusting in your perfect love for me and Your abounding grace. Amen

livingbygracepic-jp

2 thoughts on “Our Sins Thrown to the Wind…Beth Farley

  1. Beth Cherry December 20, 2014 / 11:16 am

    I am blessed to know Beth Farley and have the honor to call her friend. Her book of life is going in a different direction than she originally planned but it has been a pleasure having her in my world. Beth, I hope for you the blessings that you have bestowed on me by just knowing a good woman like you will return ten fold.You like me have been through many trials and tribulations but you continue to believe God’s Word. Safe journey to you my friend. Luv Beth Cherry

    Like

  2. Beth Farley December 20, 2014 / 11:18 am

    Aw thanks so much Beth. Your compassion for people and for your job is enormous. I will stay in touch for sure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

