Tapping Trees & Talking…Beth Farley

FullSizeRender-16

Today we woke up to more snow. Okay, I love the snow and I’m really not experiencing too many issues with the cold, but I really wanted to take him to his favorite place to have a scone. As I sipped on my coffee contemplating on getting out or not, he looked over at me and asked, “Are we going to get a scone?” Knowing that a dusting to an inch of snow is nothing around here, I decided at that point to become a true Mainerd. One calls himself that when he has lived in Maine for many, many years. And one thing I’ve noticed about a Mainerd is that they drive on just about any road condition. So I replied, “Yes, we’re going to go.”

FullSizeRender-15

When we drove to this little home-town-restaurant, we had quite the chat about the trees and tapping for syrup. He shared details like, freezing nights and warm days are needed in order to induce sap flow. He also shared that the change in temperature from above to below freezing causes water uptake from the soil, and the temperatures above freezing cause a stem pressure to develop which causes sap to flow out of the tap-holes. Finally he shared that Maine is the second largest producer of syrup.

I could go on and on about syrup collection, but the moral of this story is not about tapping a maple tree or two, but rather about the conversation of one who loves his state; one who loves to get out and one who enjoys the beauty around him. Engaging in conversation does-not come so easy to him. Some days are easier than others and today he was full of words.Today was one of those days and I tapped into that. LOL

Sometimes I am restless and in search for a fresh vision from Jesus. Today was one of those days and He emerged in trees and conversation.Today’s experience reminded me that God is everywhere and in everything and without Him, we cannot exist. I am so thankful that today was a day of talking about tapping trees, or maybe I should say, I am so thankful for the gift of just plain ol talking.

When we are in need of a fresh vision from Christ, we can know that Jesus lurks in plain sight; right in front of our eyes. Thanks for today’s talkative journey.

The kingdom of God is not coming with things that can be observed; nor will they say, “Look here it is!” or “There it is?” For, in fact, the kingdom of God is among you.
Luke 17:20-21

Leave a Reply

