Nothing New; Just a Reminder by Beth Farley

How easily I can talk myself out of going anywhere. I can hunker down under the blankets, in a warm comfy house, while the cold whips around me for days and not be bothered by it.

clock-watch-14489968Did you know there are 168 hours in a week?

Being hunkered down during the recent 2015 blizzard got me to thinking about how I spend some of my time.                                                            .

Am I productive? Am I giving of myself? Am I praying for others? Am I allowing myself some quiet time for meditation and pondering on my blessings?

Some days I march into my routine like an artificial mechanical agent. I forget to pray. I forget to  pay any attention to the things that matter in life or the blessings that I have. How about you?

Bible_paper

I am not preaching to you; I am reminding you and when I remind you I am most certainly reminding myself. When I ponder back to TIME, I think of how I need to rearrange and prioritize so that I will use it wisely.

There are three places in 1 John 2:18-20 where the Apostle John uses phrases that indicate that he was not teaching something new, but rather reminding them of something they already knew.

1 John 2:18…
Dear children, this is the last hour; and as you have heard that the antichrist is coming, even now many antichrist’s have come. This is how we know it is the last hour.
1 John 2:20…
But you have an anointing from the Holy One, and all of you know the truth.[a]

1 John 2:21…

I do not write to you because you do not know the truth, but because you do know it and because no lie comes from the truth.

Time can pursue us and become our enemy or time can pursue us and become our friend. Jesus knew it was just a matter of time before his execution on the cross. How did He spend his limited time here on earth as a man? He preached; He touched hearts; He healed; He loved; He welcomed; He taught; He dined; He dealt with evil spirits, he prayed and spent time with His Heavenly Father.

How will you spend your time his week?
Are you encouraged to spend time with God? If so, can you encourage others?

What is your method of spending time with God?

Let’s talk about it today as I host on Living by Grace.livingbygracepic-jp

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Living-by-Grace

Leave a Reply

