The Screaming Wind

 

FullSizeRender-16

 

The wind is screaming at me today. The gusts are violent and unforgiving. As the rotation of the wind becomes stronger, broken tree limbs are dangerously flying through the air. The branches are being torn from the trunk whipping by my window as if to say, “Stop! I can’t stand it anymore; this hurts!”

We too will experience violent and unforgiving spans of time in life, and we will at some point want to scream, “Stop! I can’t stand it anymore; this hurts!”

 

ID-100149492

Life is never going to be consistently calm and sunny. It just doesn’t work that way; we can’t avoid it. We will experience hardships of some sort and trying to hang onto our Godly foundation  can be very difficult.

During different cycles of my life when I was in the trenches of a stormy season, I felt separated from God. I felt God didn’t love me or was punishing me because of a choice I had made. It was only through much prayer and deep soul-searching that I realized that was not the case.

There is nothing we can do to separate us from the love of God!

And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow–not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love.
Romans 8:38 NLT
Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword?
Romans 8:35 NIV

When experiencing my violent trenches though, I have to be very careful as to not blame others for my own actions; nor blame them for my reactions! Look at the first word in Romans 8:35…Who! Why is it who and not what? Because we are so quick to blame someone. We can blame others for every hardship, persecution or famine that we’ve had to endure. We should not allow blame to bubble to the surface. It is in blaming others that can make us feel separated from God because deep down inside, we know He wants us to take responsibility for our own actions and we possibly may need to simply ask for forgiveness.

As I continue to watch the boughs of the mighty pines twist left and right, I am reminded of the painful storm I’m enduring right now. I can easily blame some people but what good will that do? Blaming others is like the thrusting of the tree limbs breaking from their foundation. Blaming rips me from my rooted foundation in God.ID-10060095

Tomorrow an absence of motion will come; there will be a stillness. Tranquility will arrive. I will glance at the limbs of the pine trees, standing firmly connected to their foundation once again.  There will be no blowing to and fro. I too am reminded that when in my ignited space of my deepest suffering, I can release my deepest fears and reach that familiar peace. I can only achieve this by staying rooted in God. I have been finding it to be true in every path, in every way…in every storm of my life, that is when God appears. 

Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit. For apart from me you can do nothing.

4 thoughts on “The Screaming Wind

  1. SandyT March 19, 2015 / 7:36 am

    Well said my friend…thanks for sharing your journey and reminding us that we have Unfailing Love….Endless Hope, not a hopeless end…Strength for today…His peace beyond our understanding….sandyT

    Like

  2. Linda Skadeland March 20, 2015 / 5:29 am

    Beth, This is so very beautiful!! I have tears in my eyes as I think of the rough winds of life and the peace that follows. Thank you for your thoughts woven in with scripture.

    Like

Leave a Reply

