Fluctuating Frost Heaves

Frost-Heave1-JPG

Do your emotions fluctuate? Do you strive to maintain your composure during sticky situations and yet, crack under the pressure?  I learned a valuable lesson in learning about Frost Heaves.

I was out for a drive when I saw an orange warning sign on the side of the road that read, “Frost Heaves.” I didn’t think much about it until I was right up on a tremendous protruding pot hole. BAM!!!

My head almost hit the roof of my car.FrostHeaveI had hit a frost heave!

Frost heaves are the result of pressure created from a combination of freezing temperatures and soil defrosting. The fluctuating freezing and thawing conditions heave, or lift, the soil, which is often characterized by deep cracking of not only the soil but the roads as well.The frost heaves are much worse this spring because of the harsh winter we have experienced. Todays normal thirty minute destination took me almost an hour. Why? The heaves were colossal, unpredictable and dangerous.

This experience got me to thinking about my fluctuating emotions during the unpredictable  seasons of my  life. My emotions can be very unpredictable and dangerous. I can crack under pressure and allow my mouth to spew things I really don’t mean to say. Do you do that? Do you reach a breaking point? If so, what do you do?

When I reach my breaking point, I need to take some deep breaths, slow myself down and focus on God.

During this dangerous road condition season, the State puts up as many warning signs to remind drivers to slow down, especially at night because its hard to see the pot holes.

What can we adhere to during our rough-weather seasons?Question

  • Remember we have a solid foundation named God. He can be trusted always. Psalm 9:9
  • Be aware of our surroundings. Don’t be in places with negative energy, and negative people. 1 Corinthians 15:33
  • Stay grounded in prayer. Pray without ceasing. 1 Thessalonians 5:13

Although we will always travel bumpy roads, and feel like we are being jolted and jarred, we can be reminded that, “This too shall pass.” God has a purpose for everything in every season of life.( Ecclesiastes 3:1)After spring, the Maine roadways will settle down, summer will come leaving us with smooth terrain again.

Have you ever heard of frost heaves? Have you ever thought about your life in different seasons? What do you do when you feel like you are in a turbulent season? Come and join us as I lead the discussion on living by grace. Thanks for stopping in.livingbygracepic.jp

Leave a Reply

