The Core of the Communication Chain

ID-10064084

Do you have a hard time communicating? Communicating can be difficult for me at times, especially when I know it’s going to involve being confrontational. I don’t want to hurt anyone.

As a care-giver of a man who has Alzheimer’s Disease, I am the core of the communication chain. I have to be willing to be a three-way-communicator. I have to be able to communicate with my client on his level of understanding. I have to be able to communicate with his companion on her level of acceptance of his disease, and I have to be able to communicate with his children on their level of trust. It is not easy to juggle three ways of communication on a daily basis.

April 27th, is “National Morse Code Day” and In 1836, Samuel Morse demonstrated the ability of a telegraph system to transmit information over wires. With the advent of radio communications, an international version of Morse code became widely used. This was also a way of communicating the well known SOS distress signal.

What are the ways in which we communicate when we might be distressed? We email, text, instant message, Facebook message, Twitter, call and go face to face. How do I keep my communication skills in tact when I am stressed over a situation? I try to remember to ask God for wisdom.ID-100157377                                                                                     Before communicating something very important or possibly confrontational; I pray and meditate over the situation. I ask God for wisdom to speak kindly. Proverbs 15:1

I know each one of my children communicate differently. My son, prefers to talk on the phone with me.He does not like to text. So, when he calls, I try my hardest to answer. When I can’t, I send him a text asking, “Is everything okay?” Why do I do that? He’s not going to answer me. I clear my schedule so that I can get a quiet moment to call him back; then we can have a quality conversation. Psalm 19:14

My oldest daughter prefers texts. She’s a wife and a mom. She works full-time. She’s going to school part-time and she rarely has the opportunity to have phone conversations. I appreciate her little, “Thinking about you mom” texts and she laughs at my silly, “love you” texts. I know better than to try to call her to have a lengthy conversation. It’s just does not work for her right now. I wait for her to call me. Proverbs 16:23

My youngest daughter is a little of both worlds. She calls me on her way home from work. If I answer, super!  If I don’t, we are fine with a text later in the evening. Jeremiah 1:9

We are living in frustrating times where communication is not at its best. God says to us to call on Him for help. Psalm 50:15, “And call on me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you, and you will honor me.” No matter what method we use, it is very important we call on Him first. We are busy people who don’t always have the time to communicate. God desires that we be utterly dependent upon Him for everything, so why not ask him for wisdom and help when we need to communicate? God is our Father and we are his children. Children can-not make it in this world without their parents. They rely on us to communicate with them about everything in life. How much more so then, can we make it without the help of our Heavenly Father?Let me end with John 15:5, “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me, and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”

ID-10069211

How do you communicate? Have you ever been in a situation where you’ve had to ask God for wisdom before calling someone? Is there someone right now that needs to hear from you?

Share your thoughts. I’d love to hear from you as I am hosting this discussion on livingbygrace.livingbygracepic-jp

Leave a Reply

