Honey Baked Ham Ice Pack

I was reflecting on my limitations with a Honey Baked Ham Ice Pack.

As I age I do not like to come to grips with my limitations. How about you? Do you feel that you have limitations creeping up on you? If so, do you fight the urge to slow down or completely giving up because your body just won’t cooperate?

Recently I was diagnosed with Degenerative Arthritis and my right knee is in bad shape. I experience a lot of pain. Because I was diagnosed with a kidney disease years back, I cannot take any anti inflammatory medications. I also am not one to take any pain medications.

I have been instructed by the physical therapist to only swim or bike ride for exercise. No more walking, jogging or aerobic exercise. These strict instructions crushed me. I’m a walker. I love to walk; it clears my mind and I like to pray while I’m walking. Praying while maneuvering my bike just does not work for me.

Today, I took a ride to the beach. 20150413_131315

I brought my chair, lunch, journal and book. I was just going to sit along the rocks and watch the waves and relax. What was I thinking? I knew better than to think I would just sit there. The beach was calling me to take a stroll.

Dropping my journal and pen, I walked over to the path to get down upon the sand. Oh just a step or two to collect a few shells won’t hurt me. About a half an hour later, I found myself way down on the other side of the sandy beach and I started to feel the pain in my knee. I turned around and painfully made my journey back. By the time I reached my chair, my knee was throbbing. I limped back to the car in excruciating pain.crying-woman1

Tonight I am icing my knee down with a Honey Baked ice pack. We only have crushed ice in the house so I figured this would do. As I sat for a while pouting about my knee, I began thinking about how it scared me to have some physical limitations.20150413_205215

I think when I actually came to this realization, I felt insecure. I started to think that I would not be useful for God. Not that I can’t do other things for God but I pray when I walk. Oh yea, I said that already.

So, what can we do when we are faced with limitations?

  • We can find an alternative route. I can’t walk or jog but I can swim and bike. I can’t pray while walking but I can pray through my journaling.
  • We can pray for serenity. Some times we just have to pray that God will help us let go of our limitations and accept them for what they are.
  • Don’t cry over spilled milk. God will always use you. Until we take our last breath, he will use us to glorify Him.

So, as the Honey Baked Ham ice pack is about all melted, I’ve been able to reflect on this experience. I will no longer disobey the doctor’s orders and I will be reminded that He has a plan through my limitations.

Don’t be discouraged if you’re struggling with a limitation. Give it to God and He will guide you.

. I will no longer disobey the doctor’s orders and I will be reminded that He has a plan through my limitations.

Don’t be discouraged if you’re struggling with a limitation. Give it to God and He will guide you.

2 thoughts on “Honey Baked Ham Ice Pack

  1. Sandy Temple April 14, 2015 / 6:05 pm

    Well said my friend…thanks for an encouraging reminder and another glimpse into your journey…❤️🙏

    >

    Like

    • Beth Farley April 15, 2015 / 6:07 am

      Thanks Sandy. Love it when you visit my blog. Miss you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

