National Blah, Blah, Day

April 17th, is National Blah, Blah, Day!

I love this! We have a day where we can actually celebrate feeling blah!

How many times do you wake up feeling yucky or go to bed feeling blah? I know I’ve experienced my fair share of blahs. What makes us feel this way?

The other day, I was struggling with my allergies. I know that when I eat too much wheat, I will struggle with allergies. Sure enough, I had cheated by eating a burger bun and then devoured a scrumptious chocolate whoopee pie. Guess what? I’m allergic to chocolate as well. The result? I felt blah.

In my experiences, what makes me feeling blah usually comes from a decision I’ve made or a negative thought I’ve had. My first response to feeling blah is that I want to blame someone else instead of owning the feeling myself. If mom didn’t have those whoopee pies in the house, I would not have eaten them. I’ve learned to take responsibility for how I feel and am trying to remember that it’s a waste of time to blame others for my feelings and reactions.

Today is National Blah Day

  • God gave us the gift of feelings and feeling blah is one of them. What can we do when we are really down?
  • Don’t resist it. Accept it. When the blahs invade your mind, start asking God to reveal what is causing you to feel yucky.
  • Pray for the strength to move past it. What’s the worst thing that could happen? With God on your side, the enemy can’t touch you. (Romans 8:31)
  • Ask God what you can learn from this. There is a reason for everything. (Ecclesiastes 3:1)

Feeling blah can be associated with depression, too. You may feel hopeless or feel like you’re walking without a purpose. There is always hope in Jesus. If you put your trust in Him, He will pull you through your situation. I’ve been there; I know.bored-tasks

Several years back, I dealt with severe depression. I had no idea what it was or where it came from. All I know is that it gripped me to the deepest darkness I had ever experienced. That was over twenty-five years ago. Unfortunately, I’ve battled with blah feelings on and off since. But God has brought me to a place in my life where surrender is a little easier than it was 25 years ago. He will never give me more than I can handle. (1 Corinthians 10:13)

I became a true believer!

That time, twenty-five years ago, was the time I developed a personal relationship with Jesus. That was the time when I began pouring my heart out to Him and I haven’t stopped. I live in victory because of good doctors, a carefully-prescribed medication, (medication is never a weakness) and a faithful God who never leaves my side.

So, do I want to celebrate National Blah, Blah, Blah Day? I’m not sure if celebrate is the word for it. I will take this day, April 17th, National Blah Blah Day, and remind myself of the victories I’ve had throughout the years.

If you are depressed, please try not to feel hopeless. There is hope. If you are having thoughts of suicide, call 911 right away. There are fantastic doctors, medications and facilities where you can get the much needed-treatment. If you need prayer, you can personally email me at bethfarley_3@yahoo.com. Blessings!

Come and join the conversation as I host on Livingbygrace.livingbygracepic.jp

If you are depressed, please try not to feel hopeless. There is hope. If you are having thoughts of suicide, call 911 right away. There are fantastic doctors, medications and facilities where you can get the much needed-treatment. If you need prayer, you can personally email me at bethfarley_3@yahoo.com. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

