Trampoline Kind of Faith…Beth Farley

As a Christian, I find it ironic to be asking, but I have to. Does your faith bounce up and down? I woke up with a little case of shaken faith. Please don’t tell me that I’m the only one that tends to have a trampoline kinda faith at times.

trampoline-71548_640

How many of you have jumped up and down on a trampoline? I remember jumping on my kids’ trampoline once, yup, only once. I didn’t enjoy it at all; as a matter of fact, I hated it. I didn’t like how I was not in control of where I was going to land me. Fear and insecurity gripped me.

Faith is stronger than gravity. When you’re falling down, it’s not a question of how far you will fall, but how high you will bounce. You see, when we experience faith-shaking-times in our lives, we have to be able to move from the negative impact of the experience into a positive plane.

In 1 Kings 18:25-40 we see the story of Elijah and the prophets of Baal. In this story Elijah has great faith to have God consume his enemies. I don’t know about you, but I think that’s quite the faith. But, his faith became shaken when Jezebel heard of what Elijah did and threatens to kill him. Does he go to God? No, he cowards away in a cave!
Then he was afraid, and he arose and ran for his life. (vs3 ESV)

He ran away But…An angel of the Lord came down and touched him, not once, but twice. God told Elijah that He has the provision in place to overcome his enemies. Elijah listened to God and followed His direction and had victory

What can we do when we feel our faith is being shaken?

1) Spend time with God. Tell him your fears. Tell Him how scared you are and how much you need Him. Psalm 27:1 The LORD is my light and my salvation, whom shall I fear? The LORD is the stronghold of my life, of whom shall I be afraid?

2) Share your fears with someone you trust. Ask them to pray for you. Sometimes talking to someone you can trust can help you cope. Psalm 34:1 I prayed to the Lord, and he answered me. He freed me from all my fears.

3) Listen to music. Listening to music is very therapeutic. Play some Christian tunes to soothe your soul. Psalm 92:1-5 It is good to praise the LORD and make music to your name, O Most High, 2 to proclaim your love in the morning and your faithfulness at night, 3 to the music of the ten-stringed lyre and the melody of the harp. 4 For you make me glad by your deeds, O LORD; I sing for joy at the works of your hands.

We were never promised a life without fear. But…there is hope in Christ. With that realization, no matter how high you jump or no matter how hard you fall, He is with us and He will help us because our Faith in him is bigger than the negative gravity that tries to covet our lives.

What is your faith looking like these days? Have you jumped high and landed low? Come and chat with us on living-by-grace a Facebook community.livingbygracepic.jp

Leave a Reply

