Getting Back on My Bike…Beth Farley

May Is National Bike Month

20150410_133627
Have you put off doing something because you were afraid? Has an event left you crippled in fear? Recently I purchased a bike. It’s a plain-ole bike. It has no gears, no hand breaks and has fat tires. I describe it as a one-speed-old-lady-bike. For years, I was afraid to get back on a bike. Where did that fear come from? It came from an incident I had when I was a child.

I have never been the greatest biker. I’ve always had some issues with equilibrium therefore making my balance off kilter at times. On one occasion, I remember showing off, riding my bike and courageously taking one hand off of the handlebar. I thought I was hot-stuff. I looked back and yelled to my brother, “Look, one hand!” When I turned forward I crashed into a parked car. It hurt and left a lasting fearful impression.

Where does fear come from? I believe fear stems from past frightening experiences. I also believe Satan would like nothing more than to trip us up and make us feel captivated to our fears.ID-100105900

There are specific things that may cause our fears to become phobias. I recently found a four page list of phobias in a magazine and was shocked to see how many applied to me at one point or another in my life. We may feel as though every courageous step we take forward, we fall two fearful steps behind.

If you were to take an inventory of your life, where would your fear gauge be? Are you closer to a10 where your fear can’t be shaken; unstopped or unyielded? Or are you closer to a 1 where your fear is listless, lifeless and stagnant?

How can we change our fear gauge from a 1 to a 10?

First of all, we should face the fear. I finally faced my fear of getting back on a bike. In Isaiah 41:10, God tells us, Fear not, for I am with you. I recited that over and over again the first time I got back on a bike and wobbled down the street. I recite that scripture every time I feel like fear is trying to take over me. It’s a small but powerful scripture in times of fear.

Secondly, do some self examination. Sometimes my fear is a result from an unconfessed sin hanging around in my live. Maybe you have done something evil. Maybe you wrongfully hurt someone’s feelings or judged someone by their appearance. There were times in my life where fear was trying to manifest itself in my soul and I had to get down on my knees and pray for help.

Thirdly, take action! If you can’t shake the fear, seek help. Go to your Pastor, or a good friend or trained counselor to help you. Proverbs 24:6

Lastly, try reciting the Serenity Prayer every day. There are things that we just can’t control and need to let go of.When I recite this prayer, there is a cleansing surrender that comes over me.

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference. 

We can work through any fear. I have experienced many fearful circumstances. Health issues, divorce, deaths, financial ruins, etc.; God has been there through every fearful situation.

Psalm 23:4, Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me, your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

Psalm 27:1 The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear, whom shall I be afraid of.

What does fear do to you?

How do you conquer your fear?

Let’s chat while I host on livingbygracepic.jp

Leave a Reply

