Hitting a Baby Bunny

Question

Can we hurt God?

Isaiah 64:6 We are all infected and impure with sin. When we display our righteous deeds, they are nothing but filthy rags. Like autumn leaves, we wither and fall, and our sins sweep us away like the wind.

Last week my friend and I took a leisure ride through the country roads of Maine. It was absolutely beautiful out. We had the windows cracked open a bit, played some soft music and engaged in pleasant conversation.

While driving through the curvy and bumpy roads, out of nowhere came a baby bunny trying to cross the road. I heard a thump under the front tire. I could do nothing to avoid it; I hit the bunny and instantly it died.

Oh the pain! Oh the sadness! It bothered me so much that I couldn’t function for a few hours. All I kept talking about was how badly I felt about hitting the baby bunny.crying-woman1

Later that night, I sat with my journal and Bible. I began to read Isaiah 64:6, when God’s Spirit began to speak to my heart about unconfessed sin in my life. He reminded me that I can come to Him any time. I can stay there with Him for as long as I want. I was prompted to ponder some personal questions about myself.

When is the last time I felt the same kind of sadness as hitting a baby bunny, towards sin in my life?

The last time I did hurt God, did it affect me for hours?

I know I am tempted to sin every day; we all are. I believe that the heart of God grieves when I take my sins lightly, especially when I try to smooth them over by blaming others.

Guilt is removed when we recognize who we are in the light of God.

If we have a true relationship with God and really know Him as He is, we will without hesitation, be forgiven and receive His mercy. We must never underestimate the price that He chose to pay for us. God does not see sin, and judge the person; He sees the person (us) and judges their sin. He looks at us from the inside out. God is in the business of changing hearts. If we have a heart-change, then our actions will also change.

for it’s like someone calculating inwardly.” Eat and drink,” he says to you, but his heart is not with you. Proverbs 23:7

Hitting the bunny was a total accident. Sin is not! If you feel there is unconfessed sin in your life, spend some time with the Almighty God. Allow Him to pour His grace over you.

Come join the conversation as we share how Awesome God is. living by grace

Leave a Reply

