Destiny and Calling

20150526_132343

What a hard but rewarding year I’ve had. I have grown in leaps and bounds with Jesus. I have experienced every emotion under the sun. What happened? I finally found my destiny and calling.

Do you know your destiny? What is God calling you to do? Here’s what I’ve learned over a year’s worth of aimless wandering.

I was kicking against my destiny. For almost a year I ignored His will for my life. The more I ignored it the more disconnected with life I became. Have you ever experienced this? Have you ever pushed God’s will aside?

I’m a committed follower!

Right now, I am very in-tune to what God wants for me. I just need to allow the Holy Spirit to get me out of the way so that He can work out the details. When we don’t get ourselves out of the way,  we will not doubt botch things up. No more life botching for me!

What is my destiny?

During this past year, I’ve been seeking, praying, reading and pondering and I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that I am to be a“Fruit of the Spirit” kind of woman. I am to be loving, caring, honest, patient, giving, not boastful and always engaging with other believers. My head knew all of this, but it took this last year of letting go and allowing some serious mending to take place.

What is my calling?

God has given me the gift of writing. He wants me to write to bring glory to his name. God has given me the gift of hospitality and serving others. God has called me to be the best care giver I can possibly be. Again, it has taken me a whole year to feel I was ready for and of this. I didn’t feel worthy or clean enough. I am now ready and in a great place in my heart and life to serve and give my love whole heartedly and I’m extremely excited about this path I’m on; because it’s what God wants.

I spent many years searching; wandering in the desert; sinking down a black hole without any direction and I’m not about to return there. I am reading the Bible more, meditating more, getting involved in a church, being honest with others about who I am and where I’ve come from.

Why is it so important to know God’s destiny and will for your life? Because if you don’t you too will stagger in this world without hope and fall down the dark pit like I did.

What I am learning is that we all will experience life-altering changes, out-of-control circumstances, or relatively normal bumps and blips that cause us to move away from the plan of God. When that happens, we must neatly nestle ourselves under God’s wings and surrender into the spot He has reserved for us. He will bring all things, all hope to us through our commitment to Him.

Oh Lord, help me to be always conscious of the calling you have on my life and may I always put your first.

Leave a Reply

