I’m in the Driver’s Seat Now; NOT!

frog-with-a-question-hi

Over what do we really have control of? I can plant some seeds, water like the packet instructs, give it some sunlight and the contents still may not grow. Maybe I didn’t use the right soil? Maybe the sunlight wasn’t bright enough? I could ask as to why they didn’t grow but in all reality, I don’t have any control over the situation. They just didn’t grow!

I think as Christians, letting go of our human nature to control situations has to be the hardest thing to do. I think if we were to think about it, we could easily see how we have either tried to control a person or situation only to find that it didn’t work. The word I know best for control is MANIPULATION.

Being less controlling is a process. I don’t desire to control people or situations in my life and sometimes I catch myself doing it. Why? Because I either want to help someone or I want something to work out in my favor.

How can we let go of being controlling or manipulative? In order to achieve that, we first need to be in acceptance with the way things are; to accept our circumstances as they are or someone as they are. People may see you as interfering in their lives hurtful, so its best to let go of the control, even if we’re just trying to help.
However, those the Father has given me will come to me, and I will never reject them.
John 6:37 NLT

The second step is that we need to be grateful for our circumstance and for people in our lives. Don’t get hooked on needing recognition from them or from what we’ve done; just be thankful.
Also, there must be no evil talk among you. Don’t say things that are foolish or filthy. These are not for you. But you should be giving thanks to God.
Ephesians 5:4 ERV

Third, we should always tap into our faith in God by saying, “I know this is how it’s supposed to be for now; until You change things, God.”
What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who shall be against us?Romans 8:31 ESV

As I was writing this blog, I paused to take a call from my daughter. Guess what the subject was? Being a control freak and not allowing God to work the situation out. Perfect timing Lord.IMG_1158

Leave a Reply

