What Do I Do, God?

IMG_0080

During my recent camp visit, I notice my little dog, Peek, was aimlessly wandering , trying to find a comfortable place to relax. First she was on the deck, then up in a chair. She then went down onto the dock that overlooked the lake. She’s usually such a content dog, so this strange behavior was troublesome to me. My mom and I just watched her for what seamed like a good ten to fifteen minutes, looking and sniffing for the perfect place to rest, when my mom said, “She just doesn’t know what to do.” Finally, she found a spot, in the sliver of sun that was shining in the grass. She nestled down into it and relaxed.

Been there? How many times have you felt like you can’t settle down because of a situation? I know I have. I have backed myself into a corner a few times in life asking, “What do I do God?”

When we are having those moments, hours, days or months feeling unsettled; we need to just be still. Is that easier said than done? Oh yeah! I can think of many men and women in the Bible that felt backed into a corner when feeling unsettled about God’s direction in their lives.

Right off the bat I think of Jonah. He was called by God to go preach repentance into the city of Nineveh. Instead, being the stubborn fellow that he was, he did just the opposite of what he was told. He went down to the seaport of Joppa and booked a passage on a ship to Tarshish, headed directly away from Nineveh. He ran away from God. Because he took a detour, God brought on horrendous storms. Jonah boarded a boat with fishermen and they were determined that Jonah caused the violent storms. Eventually, they threw him overboard. Once he was thrown out of  the boat, the water immediately grew calm. Jonah, by the Grace of God didn’t drown but ended up in a whale. Here’s where I believe Jonah repented and thought, what do I do now, God?

Sometimes we have to be swallowed up by the storms of life in order to cause us to pause and ask, “What do I do?” Jonah was in the whale’s stomach for three days.There must have been a whole lot of thinking, praying and crying going on. God commanded the whale, and it vomited the prophet onto dry land. We too may have to stay in a place of thinking, praying and crying before we are spit out of our trials and know what to do next.

Seek the Lord and his strength; seek his presence continually!
1 Chronicles 16:11

20150605_090604-2

Leave a Reply

