Who’s Shoes Are You Trying to Fill?

20150502_145512-3

Are you trying to be like someone else? Are you trying to fill someone else’s expectations? STOP! You can’t!

My gosh, when I was a young mom I wanted to be the entertainer, the chauffeur, the chef, the activities coordinator, the nursery worker, the VBS helper etc. I wanted to fill the shoes that were just not meant for me. I became drained and cranky. Sound familiar?

Now as an older single woman, I know where God wants me to minister. I am very careful not to step into shoes that were not meant for me. HOWEVER, every now and then, my co-dependent personality wants to rear its ugly head causing me to try on some shoes that are not my size.

I think the greatest shoes that were invented were the flip-flops, the slip on tennis shoe or clog. I am a person that loves to be barefoot. I like to kick off the shoes whenever possible. Wearing laced up or bucked up shoes are too restricting. But, it’s just the opposite in my ministry. I need my shoes buckled and tied so I don’t step out of them into ministries that are not intended for my feet.

We just can’t fill all expectations. We can’t be thin enough, quiet enough, work enough, volunteer enough, sing enough, etc. We are who we are. We all have our own shoes specifically designed for our feet. Now, step into your shoes with confidence knowing you are walking where they are meant to walk.

sandals1

 

Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who has no need to be ashamed, rightly handling the word of truth. 2 Timothy 2:15

Leave a Reply

